July 30, 2001

TO: Members of the Seventh Judicial District Court System

The Seventh Judicial District is, and has been since its inception, a special community in

the best sense of the word.

Our history and our present are filled with examples of talented people in the judicial

system intensely striving for an individual best yet maintaining a keen commitment to the

common good and enhancement of the system itself.

Rare is the person who ventures outside our district for work forays who doesn't rush to

return.

Many of the rules and procedures included in this notebook constitute a product of that

cooperative and dedicated spirit. While some result from state mandates, most either codify

long-standing practice or come from district-wide collaboration.

No rule included here is, or could possibly be, static. All will change with time and

experience and, by necessity, ambiguities will need to be settled by a good dose of Seventh

District reason and practicality.

The rules are intended to improve our system of justice, our working relationships and

our fairness and efficiency both in reality and public perception. We owe that to ourselves and

our community as well as to those who follow many years from now. We must not forget to

guard against maintaining any unfair, inappropriate or less than optimum rule simply because it

had earlier been adopted as a written rule. Continued input and discussion are imperative.

The notebook format is being utilized for that very reason. Notice of additions, deletions

and modifications will be sent as the need occurs in order to maintain viability.

Thank you for your assistance and I wish you the absolute best.

Sincerely,

John L. Whitley

Chief District Court Judge

DISTRICT COURT JUDGES

Honorable John L. Whitley (Chief)	1980-
Honorable Joseph John Harper, Jr.	1988-
Honorable John M. Britt	1996-
Honorable Pell C. Cooper	1999-
Honorable Robert A. Evans	1999-
Honorable William G. Stewart	2000-
Honorable William C. Farris	2000-

JUDGES PREVIOUSLY SERVING

Honorable Albert S. Thomas, Jr. (Chief)	1980 - 2000
Honorable George M. Britt (Chief)	1977 - 1996
Honorable J. Phil Carlton (Chief)	1968 - 1977
Honorable Ben H. Neville	1968 - 1980*
Honorable Tom H. Matthews	1968 - 1980
Honorable James E. Ezzell, Jr.	1980 - 1983
Honorable Quentin T. Sumner	1983 - 1990
Honorable Allen W. Harrell	1968 - 1992*
Honorable M. Alexander Biggs	1991 - 1999

*Deceased

JUDICIAL ASSISTANTS

Mrs. Marsha B. Winbourne

Mrs. Doris Brantley

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

IN THE GENERAL COURT OF JUSTICE DISTRICT COURT DIVISION

COUNTIES OF WILSON, NASH & EDGECOMBE

ORDER

THE following Local Rules and Procedures for District Court in the Seventh Judicial District are hereby adopted and are in effect this date unless otherwise stated. Any later amendments shall be adopted as filed.

This the 30th day of June, 2000.

Albert S. Thomas, Jr. Chief District Court Judge Seventh Judicial District

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

IN THE GENERAL COURT OF JUSTICE DISTRICT COURT

COUNTIES OF WILSON, NASH & EDGECOMBE

ORDER

Amendments as attached to Sections III and IV of the Local Rules and Procedures for District Court in the Seventh Judicial District are hereby adopted, effective as of this date signed.

This the 16th day of August, 2004.

John L. Whitley Chief District Court Judge Seventh Judicial District