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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL COURT OF JUSTICE
C - DISTRICT COURT DIVISION

COUNTY OF CABARRUS v i oo oe 19A JUDICIAL DISTRICT

In re the Adoption of Local Rules )
)

For Divorce Before the Clerk of ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
Superior Court of Cabarrus County ) 20-01

The attached Local Rules for Divorce before the Clerk of Superior Court are
hereby adopted effective February 1, 2020, pursuant to the authority of N.C. Gen.
Stat. §50-10 and shall apply to all cases filed on or after that date.

It is therefore so ORDERED, this the 24 #;day of January 2020.
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The Honorable Christy E. Wilhelm
Chief District Court Judge




Local Rules for District 19A for Divorce
Before the Clerk of Superior Court

Rule 1: Eligibility

Any person eligible for a divorce after separation of one year pursuant to N.C.G.S. §50-6
who has not made any claims other than one for absolute divorce, who has met all the filing
requirements set forth below and where one of the following events has occurred may request entry
of Judgment for Absolute Divorce Before the Clerk (AOC-CV-710) so long as the Defendant is
not an infant, incompetent person; and

(1) The Defendant has defaulted for failure to appear; or

(2) The Defendant has filed an Answer admitting the allegations of the complaint and has
not filed any counterclaims; or

(3) The Defendant filed a Waiver of his or her ri ght to answer the Complaint.

A request to resume a former name does not disqualify a case from being eligible to be
heard before the Clerk.

Any case not meeting these requirements shall be calendared for hearing before a District
Court Judge. If the Clerk determines a filing does not meet these requirements, the Clerk shall
mail a Continuance Order/Notice of Hearing to the parties or their attorney(s).

Rule 2: Filing Requirements

Any person filing a new action (no existing case) must file with the Clerk of Court one
original and two copies of the following forms. These forms will be available in the office of the
Civil Division of the Clerk of Court for Cabarrus County, North Carolina or on the North Carolina
Judicial Branch website, www necourts,eov:

Domestic Civil Action Cover Sheet (AOC-CV-750)
Summons (AOC-CV-100)

Complaint

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Affidavit (AOC-G-250)
Judgment for Absolute Divorce Before the Clerk
Certificate of Absolute Divorce (1 copy only)

e as o

The cost of filing is $225.00 payable in cash. money order, debit/credit card, or check from
an attorney made payable to the Clerk of Superior Court. There is an additional fee of $10.00 for
resumption of a former name.



Rule 3; Service

A copy of the required filings must be served upon the Defendant in compliance with North
Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure 4(j) as follows:

(1) Service by the Sheriff’s Office of the County in which the Defendant resides or can be
located. Any party requesting that the Cabarrus County Sheriff's Office serve the
divorce documents shall pay an additional $30.00 (cash, money order, debit/credit card,
or check from an attorney made payable to the Cabarrus County Sheriff’s Office). A
party seeking service by a Sheriff's office in any other county or state should contact
that Office directly for instruction on the process of service and applicable fees:

(2) By mailing copies of the filed documents to the Defendant by registered or certified
mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the party to be served and being
successfully delivered to the addressee. Proof of service in this manner in the form of
an Affidavit of Service must be filed along with proof of actual delivery, such as a
returned “green card” or printout from the postal service;

(3) By the filing of a signed and notarized Acceptance of Service;

(4) Service upon the Defendant by a person authorized under the law to perfect service of
process along with the filing of an appropriate Affidavit of Service.

(5) Service by publication as allowed by law. Please note, if service by publication is
necessary, the matter must be scheduled before a District Court Judge for hearing,

Cases where service is achieved by publication are not eligible for Divorce Before the
Clerk.

Rule 4: Notice

If the Defendant has made an appearance in the action by filing an Answer, a Notice of
Divorce Before the Clerk (see Local Forms) must be filed with the Clerk of Court and properly
served upon the Defendant at least ten (10) days in advance of the date set for review by the Clerk.

If the Defendant has made no appearance, N.C.G.S. §50-10(b) provides that no notice of
the hearing shall be given.

If the Defendant has made an appearance in the action by filing an Answer and
Counterclaim for any claim other than resumption of a former name, the case will not be eligible
for Divorce Before the Clerk. The Clerk shall mail a Continuance Order or Notice of Hearing to
the parties and their attorney(s).



Rule 5: Scheduling

Entry of Judgment for Absolute Divorce Before the Clerk will take place at times and dates
designated by the Clerk of Superior Court of Cabarrus County. The Plaintiff must submit three
(3) copies of a Judgment for Absolute Divorce Before the Clerk (AOC-CV-710) and one (1) copy
of the Certificate of Absolute Divorce at least seven (7) calendar days prior to the date selected for
review by the Clerk. Otherwise, the entry of judgment may be delayed or rescheduled.

Rule é: Clerk’s review

On the date designated for review, the Clerk of Superior Court or the Clerk’s designee will
examine the filings in a closed-door session to determine if all requirements have been met and
entry of the Judgment for Absolute Divorce Before the Clerk is appropriate. Once signed, the
Clerk will deliver by regular mail, or other acceptable means, signed and filed copies of the
Judgment to the parties or the parties” attorneys.



STATE OF NORTH CAROCLINA IN THE GENERAL COURT OF JUSTICE

DISTRICT COURT DIVISION
CABARRUS COUNTY

FILE NO.:

Plaintiff

Vs. NOTICE OF DIVORCE BEFORE THE CLERK

Defendant

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that the Clerk of Court for Cabarrus County, North

Carcoling will review Plaintiff's claim for divorce on Friday

24 _ in the Civil Clerk’s Office, located in the Cabarrus County Courthouse, 77

Union Strset 8., Concord, North Carolina 28055,

If you have not filed an Answer or other responsive pleading within the time

o

llowed by law, a Judgment of Divorce Before the Clerk may be signed and entered on
the date set forth above. Please note, this is a closed-door review and only the

filing of an appropriaste pleading will be considersd.

If you have timely filed an Answer or other responsive pleading and want a

hearing with a Judge, please contact the Cabarrus County Civil Clerk’s Office.

i

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that he/she has served a copy ©f the
foregoing NOTICE OF DIVORCE BEFORE THE CLERK on the Defendant, by placing a
copy of the same in a postage pre-paid wrapper and depositing it with the

United States Postal Service, properly addressed as follows:

Name :

Address:

This the day of 20

Plaintiff or Attorney for Plaintiff



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA - b

In The General Court OFf Justice

County District Court Division
Name OF Plaintift ‘ '
JUDGMENT FOR
VERSUS ABSOLUTE DIVORCE
Name Of Defendant k BEFGRE THE CLERK
G.3. 50-10()

NOTE TO CLERK: This form is drafted for granting absolute divorce when plaintiff's verified compiaint alleges ail of the rfequired facts and the plaintiff
proves service of the summons and cormplaint. and riotice of hearing, if required. if plaintiff's complaint is not verified or ifthe complaint does not allege alf
of the facts necessary, the clerk should not enter 5 Judgment.

FINDINGS
This case was heard by the undersigned Clerk of Superior Court upon the Plaintiffs complaint for an Absolute Divorce. From the verified
complaint and other evidence presentsd, the Court finds the following facts:
1. The defendant was properly served with the Summons and Complaintin this action as provided by the Rules of Civil Procedurs.
2. The defendant
[_a. failed to make an appearance.
[ 1b. admitted all of the plaintiff's allegations in the answer,
[_lc. filed a written waiver of the right to answer,
3. The defendant is not an infant or incompetent,
4. [_la. The defendant was served with notice of this heating as required by the Rules of Civil Procadurs,
[ 1b. The defendant was not served with notice of this hearing because [ | defendant failed to make an appedrance.
["Jdefendant filed a written waiver of the right o receive notice of any hearings.

5 The [_]plaintiff [Jdefendant  is a resident of ; _— County, North
Carolina and has besn a resident of the State of North Cargling for more than six (6) months immediately preceding the
commencement of this action.

8. The plaintiff and defendant were married on or about {give date}

7. Onthe date this complaint was filed, the parties had lived separate and apart for more than one year, that at the time of separation
the [ Jplaintiff [Jdefendant had intent to remain continuously separate and apart from the [ |defendant [ plaintiff:
and the parlies have lived continuously separate and apart since their separation without resuring the marital relationship,

{18 The plaintiff has requested to use the plaintiffs former name of (give name}
" . CONCLUSIONS

Based upon the foregoing findings of fact, the Court concludes as a matter of law that it has jurisdiction over the sublect matter and the
parties and that the plaintiff is entitied to an Absolute Diverce based on one year's separation.

ORDER

e

Therefore, it is orderad that

1. The bonds of matrimony which have existed between the parties are dissolved and the plaintiff is granted an Absolute Divorce
from the defendant,

C1a2 The plaintift is allowed to resume the plaintPs former name set forth above,

Date Signature
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