
 
 

 

Judicial District 1 

 

COMPLAINT FOR 

CUSTODY AND/OR VISITATION 

 
DUE TO THE CHANGING NATURE OF THE LAW, the forms and instructions 

contained in this packet may become outdated. You should review and 

research statutes and rules of procedure referenced in the instructions to 

ensure that the forms are accurate and current. 

 

IN NO EVENT will the Clerk of Court, the Custody Mediator or anyone 

contributing to the production of these forms, instructions or guidelines be liable 

for any indirect or consequential damages resulting from use of the forms or information provided to you. 

 

IF THERE ARE ANY QUESTIONS in your mind concerning these forms, or your 

legal rights, it is strongly recommended that you consult with an attorney. 

 

USE THESE FORMS AT YOUR OWN RISK. THESE FORMS MAY OR MAY 

NOT BE APPROPRIATE IN YOUR PARTICULAR CASE. ANY DESIRED 

OUTCOME FROM THE USE OF THESE FORMS CANNOT BE PREDICTED OR 

GUARANTEED. IT IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU SEEK LEGAL ADVICE! 

NO ONE AT THE JUDICIAL CENTER, CLERK OF COURT’S OFFICE OR JUDGE’S OFFICE, 

MAY GIVE LEGAL ADVICE OR TELL YOU HOW TO FILL OUT FORMS! 

 

PLEASE CAREFULLY READ THE FORMS AND 

INSTRUCTIONS CONTAINED IN THIS PACKET. 

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONSULT 

WITH AN ATTORNEY. 



 
 
 

 
 
 
 

THESE ARE EDUCATIONAL FORMS AND 

INSTRUCTIONS DESIGNED TO ASSIST YOU, BUT YOU 

ARE REPRESENTING YOURSELF. PLEASE REVIEW 

AND FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO IMPROVE YOUR 

PERFORMANCE IN YOUR CASE. FAILURE TO READ 

AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS MAY ADVERSELY 

IMPACT YOUR CLAIM. 

 

NO ONE AT THE CLERK OF COURT’S OFFICE OR JUDGE’S 

OFFICE OR THE CUSTODY MEDIATOR MAY GIVE LEGAL 

ADVICE OR TELL YOU HOW TO FILL OUT FORMS!



Steps for Filing a Complaint for Custody/Visitation 

 

 

STEP 1 
Filling Out the Documents 

 

You must complete the following documents: 

 

• Complaint for Custody and/or Visitation.  The Plaintiff and Defendant stay the same throughout the entire 

case.  Look on the previous order to see who the Plaintiff and Defendant are.  Note that you MUST sign this 

Complaint in the presence of a Notary Public. 

 

• Civil Summons (AOC-CV-100). Forms may be accessed and filled out on line at www.nccourts.gov. 

 

• Domestic Civil Action Cover Sheet (AOC-CV-750). Forms may be accessed and filled out on line at 

www.nccourts.gov. 

 

• Custody Mediation Cover Sheet and Notice for Custody Mediation Orientation. ALL PARTIES IN 

CUSTODY/VISITATION CASES ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEND CUSTODY MEDIATION. 

 

• Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Affidavit (AOC-G-250). Forms may be accessed and filled out on line at 

www.nccourts.gov . 

 

 

 

STEP 2 
Filing the Documents 

 

You will need to take the following documents to the Civil Division of the Clerk of Superior Court’s office in the 

Courthouse in the County in which you live. 

 

 • $150.00 filing fee (fee subject to change) 

 • The original and two (2) copies of the Summons  

 • The original and two (2) copies of the Complaint 

 • The original and two (2) copies of the Custody Mediation Cover Sheet and Notice for Custody Mediation  

  Orientation 

 • The original and two (2) copies of the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Affidavit 

 • $30.00 per Defendant service fee (if you choose to have a North Carolina Sheriff’s Department serve your 

  documents)    

  

 

 

STEP 3 
Mandatory Custody Mediation 

 

All cases filed in North Carolina which involve custody must go through the Custody Mediation Program.  If you 

have not yet participated in Custody Mediation with regards this particular custody case, you will be required to 

participate before your case can be heard before a District Court Judge.   

 

Mediation is a process in which a professionally trained neutral third party assists parents in developing an 

agreement that provides for the care of their children during and after separation. The goal of the mediation process 

is to provide the litigant a forum to discuss parenting issues that involve both parents in the continuing care of their 

children. The agreement focuses on the children’s needs as well as the on the rights and responsibilities of both 
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parents. The parties are not required to reach an agreement, but they are required to attend at least one orientation 

session and one mediation session.  Because participation is mandatory, there is no cost to you.  Upon filing your 

complaint with the Clerk of Court, you will be given the date/time/place to complete the “Custody Mediation Cover 

Sheet and Notice for Custody Mediation Orientation” form, which form will notify you and the other party(ies) of 

the date, time and place that you must attend an orientation.  It is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to serve this Notice 

of Orientation on the other party.  The orientation is an information exchange between the parties and the Custody 

Mediator and serves to educate you about the mediation process.  At the orientation, the Custody Mediator will 

schedule your mediation session.   

 

If your mediation does not result in an agreement, the Custody Mediator will send an Order to Calendar to both 

parties.  A calendaring request must be made within 90 days thereafter.  The form for this calendar request will be 

provided to you with your copy of the Order to Calendar. 

 

 

STEP 4 
Service of Process 

 

North Carolina General Statutes require that you give notice to the other party about the filing of your complaint.  

This is known as “Service of Process.”  The correct way to serve the other party is determined by law.  If the 

documents are not correctly served on the other party, the court will not hear your case.  All papers and documents 

that you file in your case must be served on the other party.  If the other party has an attorney, you must send copies 

of all of the paperwork to the attorney. 

 

PLEASE READ THIS SECTION VERY CAREFULLY. 

 

If you have concerns or are confused, consult with an attorney immediately!  In order for your case to be 

binding against the Defendant, he/she must be given notice of the case, or served in a manner that is recognized by 

the court. PLEASE NOTE that service of process must be completed successfully for your case to proceed and 

avoid dismissal. This means that if you have the sheriff serve the documents, IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to 

follow up and make sure service was completed. If you serve by certified or registered mail, YOU MUST file the 

Affidavit of Service of Process by Registered or Certified Mail found in your packet along with the green 

return-receipt card you receive in the mail. The forms needed for Service of Process and the procedures you must 

follow are complex and will vary. In order to learn which steps to take next, review the following and choose the 

correct forms and procedures for your case: 

 

AVAILABLE METHODS FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS: 

 

I.  Service of Process by the Sheriff: If the party lives in North Carolina and will not accept service of process, 

you will need to pay a $30.00 service fee per party served to the sheriff in the county where he/she resides to 

serve the papers. 

 

a. Take the Civil Summons and Complaint to the Clerk’s Office, when you file for custody/visitation. The 

summons should include the most recent address of the Defendant and any other information that will help 

the sheriff’s office locate him/her. These will be stamped and filed by the clerk. You must take or send the 

stamped documents and the $30.00 payment to the Sheriff’s office where the defendant lives.  Be sure to 

keep a copy of these documents. 

 

 b. After delivering these documents to the sheriff, he/she will keep a copy of the summons detailing how the 

Complaint and Summons were delivered to the Defendant. The sheriff’s deputy will then file this 

information with the clerk of court after service is complete. 

 

 c. In order to find out if the sheriff was successful or unsuccessful in attempting to serve the Defendant, you 

must check with the Clerk’s office or the Sheriff’s office to determine if service was successful. 

 

II. Service of Process by Certified or Registered Mail 



 

 a. Service of Process by certified or registered mail can be completed within the state and outside of the state, 

but within the US (please consult with an attorney if the Defendant is in the military or lives in another 

country) by mailing a copy of the Summons and Complaint by registered or certified mail, return 

receipt requested, addressed to the Defendant and delivered to his/her address (or the address of the 

location where he/she can be contacted by mail). A postal worker can help you fill out the necessary forms 

registered or certified mailing. If you choose this type of service, you must file an Affidavit of Service of 

Process by Certified or Registered Mail when you receive the return receipt (the “green card”). You 

must attach the original return receipt to your affidavit. 

 

 b.  The Affidavit of Service must be taken to and signed in the presence of a Notary Public and then filed with 

the Clerk of Court for placement in your Court file. 

 

 

III. Service of Process by Publication: You Do NOT Know Where the Defendant Is: (THIS SHOULD BE 

YOUR LAST RESORT) 

 

 a. If you do not know where the Defendant is located, you will need to serve him/her by "publication." If you 

know where the Defendant is or can find out his/her address, this process should not be used. Publication is 

a complex process using the newspaper to run notice of the complaint. You should speak with an attorney 

regarding this type of service. 

 

 

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO ENSURE  

THAT ALL OF THE ABOVE STEPS HAVE BEEN DONE PROPERLY.   

 

IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU SEEK LEGAL ADVICE 

REMEMBER, THE CLERK OF COURT CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. 

 

 

 

 

STEP 5 

Attendance 
 

Be sure to attend all scheduled court events on time and dress appropriately (as if you were going to a job 

interview).  This is very important. 

 

 

 


