

THE NORTH CAROLINA DISPUTE RESOLUTION COMMISSION

GUIDELINES

Guidelines for Family Financial Settlement Rule 8(a)(1) "How Do I Do That? (2024 Essentials of Family Law)" Online Video Available

(Adopted by the Commission on May 6, 2011; amended on March 1, 2020, July 24, 2020, May 23, 2022, and May 10, 2024; March 20, 2025)

Family Financial Settlement (FFS) Rule 8(a)(1) provides:

- (1) The applicant for certification must have a basic understanding of North Carolina family law. Applicants should be able to demonstrate that they have completed at least twelve hours of basic family law education by:
 - a. attending workshops or programs on topics such as separation and divorce, alimony and postseparation support, equitable distribution, child custody and support, and domestic violence;
 - b. completing an independent study on these topics, such as viewing or listening to video or audio programs on family law topics; or
 - c. having equivalent North Carolina family law experience, including work experience that satisfies one of the categories set forth in the Commission's policy on interpreting Rule 8(a)(1) (e.g., the applicant is an experience family law judge or board-certified family law attorney).

To facilitate compliance with FFS Rule 8(a)(1) above, The North Carolina Bar Association has produced a video on family law issues that satisfies the requirements of FFS Rule 8(a)(1). As set out above, and has agreed to make its current program (click here to sign up and view), "How Do I Do That? 2024 Essentials of Family Law)" available for on-line viewing by FFS certification applicants. The applicant will have 14 days to view all segments of the program at a cost of \$110.00. If an applicant does not complete their viewing within the 14-day period, an additional \$110.00 fee will be required to complete any unwatched segments. Once all segments have been viewed, an applicant will have an opportunity to download and print a certificate. Please attach that certificate to your family financial mediator certification application. CLE credit is not available to those who watch the on-line video. If you are interested in CLE credit, please contact the NCBA at (919) 733-0123 before registering for this on-line program.

To register to watch on-line, you will need to visit the NCBA's website Click here to sign up and watch

From the above link, click on "Add to Cart." Complete the "User Information" and "Credit Card Information" sections and click on the "submit" button. After you have registered, an email will be forwarded to you with a link to the segments and a password. As noted above, your account will be active for only 14 days.

The Commission appreciates the NCBA's assistance in creating this link and helping to make this video available online to FFS certification applicants.