

## THE NORTH CAROLINA DISPUTE RESOLUTION COMMISSION

## **POLICY**

## Policy on Compliance on Family Financial Settlement Rule 8(a)(1).

(Adopted by the Commission on February 13, 2009; amended on March 26, 2014; March 1, 2020, and September 30, 2022)

Rule 8(a)(1) of the Rules for Settlement Procedures in District Court Family Financial Cases, requires an applicant demonstrate they have completed at least twelve hours of basic family law education as a prerequisite to the 40-hour training course. An applicant may be in compliance with the family law educational requirement under Rule 8(a)(1) if they meet one of the following criteria:

- 1. Applicants who have served as North Carolina district court judges and who, for at least four years of their service, have spent at least 25 percent of their time on family cases, are exempt from the requirements set forth in the FFS Rule 8(a)(1).
- 2. Applicants who are North Carolina board certified family law specialists will be exempt from the requirements set forth in FFS Rule 8(a)(1).
- 3. Attorney applicants, at least 25 percent of whose practice has been devoted to family law for each of the past four years and who have completed at least 12 hours of family law CLE in the past two years, will be exempt from the requirements set forth FFS Rule 8(a)(1) provided that the attorney certifies that at least 25 percent of his/her practice is devoted to family law and provides evidence of the CLE courses completed.
- 4. All other applicants, including non-attorneys and attorneys who have practiced little or no family law in North Carolina must complete the NCBA basic NC family law for mediator course or submit other NC family law related courses which taken together are comparable to a two-day basic family law course.
- **5.** Simply reading course materials will not be acceptable. A course(s) must be attended either live, via video-replay in a group setting, or by individually watching a video or DVD.