NORTH CAROLINA'S

3 Branches of Government

The Constitution establishes three branches of government. Each branch is equally important and has its own specific job, but they also work together to make sure that the government is doing its best to take care of its people. This framework provides a separation of powers and prevents any one branch from becoming too powerful. The first North Carolina Constitution was created in 1776 followed by

two major revisions and many amendments. The current form was ratified in 1971 and has 14 articles.



Provides a separation of powers



EXECUTIVE

GOVERNOR — the elected head

chosen by the Governor to oversee

CABINET SECRETARIES —

the Executive Branch agencies

of the Executive Branch

Carries out laws

Interprets laws and constitution

- SUPREME COURT 1 Chief Justice (head of the Judicial Branch) and 6 associate justices elected to 8-year terms by North Carolina citizens
- **COURT OF APPEALS** 15 elected judges sit in rotating panels of 3
- SUPERIOR COURTS divided into 50 districts and empanels juries and hears all felony criminal cases, big civil cases, and appeals from district courts
- DISTRICT COURTS divided into four categories (criminal, civil, juvenile, and magistrate) and are located in the county seat of each of North Carolina's 100 counties

LEGISLATIVE

Makes laws

- **SENATE** 50 elected senators total, one each from 50 districts
- HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
 120 elected representatives
 total, one each from 120 districts

DID YOU KNOW?

The Supreme Court of
North Carolina is the state's
highest court. It was founded
in 1819 and is 200 years old.
North Carolina's court system,
called the General Court of
Justice, is a state operated
and state-funded unified
court system.



JUDICIAL