Jennifer Haigwood CHAIR

> Christine S. Long EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

PO Box 2448, Raleigh, NC 27602 Christine.S.Long@nccourts.org 919-890-1424

HTC.NCCOURTS.GOV



BIOGRAPHY

Deana Joy

Executive Director, Children's Advocacy Centers of North Carolina

Deana Joy has spent her career working in the nonprofit sector with victims of crime. She began by working with victims of sexual violence, with the responsibility of volunteer recruitment, training and oversight for the 24-hour crisis line. In 2002, she began working with child abuse victims in addition to her work with sexual assault survivors. This work included management and facilitation of both the child and adult multi-disciplinary teams. Deana was promoted to Executive Director of a local Children's Advocacy and Sexual Assault Center in 2006, where she stayed until 2014. Additionally, she was a trained forensic interviewer from 2005-2014.

In 2014, Deana was hired as the executive director of Children's Advocacy Centers of North Carolina. Her responsibilities include oversight of 6 staff, the fiscal operations of the entity, legislative advancement, ensuring training and TA are available to all accredited and provisional Children's Advocacy Centers, and growing CACs in underserved areas of the state.

Deana serves as a member of the Governor's appointed Child Well Being and Transformation Task force. Additionally, she serves on the Governors Crime Commission Crime Victim Services Committee, the Children's Justice Act Committee, and the NC Child Abuse Prevention Task Force. Additionally, Deana works with many state partners to include the NC Department of Health and Human Services, the University of North Carolina, the NC Attorney General, NCCASA, NCCADV, NCVAN, and PCANC to develop and revise current state legislation in regards to child abuse and neglect. Deana is a Children's Advocacy Center accreditation site reviewer for the National Children's Alliance.

Deana has received The Nonprofit Sector Stewardship Award, the NC Young Nonprofit Leadership Award, and the 40 under 40 award.