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Eviction hearings are 
postponed statewide until 
at least June 21.

Not paying
rent or fees

What is the 
reason for 
eviction?

Any reason other 
than not paying 
rent or fees

Do you live
in subsidized
housing?

No

Yes

No

If your landlord has a government  
(HUD (including FHA), USDA, VA, 
Fannie Mae, or Freddie Mac) mortgage:NO.

NO.Then evictions and late fees are banned for 120 days 
- until July 25 - by the federal CARES Act. 
After that, 30 days’ notice is required to evict.

CAN I BE EVICTED
during the COVID-19 crisis

in North Carolina?

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services created the original flow chart on the CARES Act’s eviction moratorium provision. 

Does your 
landlord have a
government 
mortgage?

TIP: How do I know if my landlord 
has a government mortgage? 

You can try to look up whether your 
landlord has a government mortgage on 
your county’s register of deeds’ or GIS 
website. Look for the deed of trust on the 
property you rent from your landlord. Your 
landlord may also be willing to tell you 
about the mortgage on the property.

If you are unable to determine if your 
landlord has a government mortgage, then
you should raise the issue at the beginning
of your eviction hearing, if the magistrate 
doesn’t ask the landlord first.

Talk to a lawyer if you have additional 
questions.

 

 

• Public housing,
• Section 8 project-based housing, 
• HUD-subsidized senior housing,
• Other HUD-subsidized housing,
• USDA-subsidized housing, or
• Tax credit or “LIHTC” housing

Then evictions and late fees are banned for 120 
days - until July 25 - by the federal CARES Act.
After that, 30 days’ notice is required to evict.

NO. If you have a Section 8 voucher
OR you live in: 

z

Your landlord cannot force you to move without taking you to 
court! If this happens to you, then call a lawyer. You may also be 
able to get  free legal help through the Legal Aid of North Carolina 
Helpline at 1-866-219-5262. 

Eviction hearings are 
postponed statewide 
until at least June 21. 
Also, landlords cannot 
file new evictions for 
nonpayment of rent until 
after June 21. 


