

NC Human Trafficking Commission: Appropriations Committee Meeting May 23, 2022 WebEx through the NC Judicial Center

1:05pm Welcome & Introductions

Committee Chair Wind opened the meeting and read the required ethics statement. She then conducted a verbal roll call to document attendance. Committee members in attendance at the meeting were Jennifer Haigwood, Amy Auth, Danielle Carman (exits 2pm), Nancy Hagan, Jasmine McGhee, Marc Nichols (joins 1:15 & exits 1:36pm), Joseph Kyzer, Caitlin Brooks (joins 1:20), Deana Joy, and Angelica Wind. Also in attendance was Commission Executive Director, Christine Long. Members of the public were also able to view or listen to the meeting via WebEx.

Committee Chair Remarks and Minutes

Committee Chair Wind thanked all in attendance and asked if there were changes to the minutes from the April 18th meeting. No changes were noted and the minutes were passed.

Section 16.22 Application Paperwork

Committee Chair Wind reviewed the Request for Proposal (RFP) regarding section 16.22 of the Appropriations Act. This RFP is for qualifying domestic violence and sexual assault agencies for the specific use of facility improvements. (Please see the meeting handouts for further reference.) The committee discussed how many potential applications might come in or be approved. Decisions on eligibility of agencies under the NCCWYI will not be made until July 11th. The committee members suggested a few changes to the RFP and those will be adopted by HTC staff prior to issuing the RFP.

Other Business

AOC General Counsel, Joseph Kyzer discussed the Terms and Conditions that will accompany the RFP and will eventually be the contract that agencies sign when receiving funds from section 16.22. These Terms and Conditions are not in final form at this time, but will be complete at the time of RFP release.

Public Comment

No public comment during the meeting.

Adjournment 2:00pm

Committee Chair Wind adjourned the meeting. The Committee will plan to meet in two weeks.

Committee Chair, Angelica Wind

Committee Chair, Angelica Wind

Committee Chair, Angelica Wind

Committee Member, Kyzer

Committee Chair Wind

. .