

NC Human Trafficking Commission: Legislative Committee Meeting May 13, 2021 WebEx through the NC Judicial Center

10:05am Welcome & Introductions

Committee Chair Caitlin Brooks opened the meeting and conducted a verbal roll call to document attendance. Committee members in attendance at the meeting were Caitlin Brooks, Sarah Byrne, Tarrah Callahan, Eric Zogry, Daniel Bowes, Jasmine McGhee (10:30am), and Angelica Wind (10:30am). Also in attendance was Commission Staff, Christine Long, and guest presenters Audra Padget, Meredith Bock, Kaity Yu Emerson, and Madison Urban.

Approval of Minutes: 3.18.2021

No amendments to the minutes were requested and minutes were adopted.

Legislative Update

Committee Chair Brooks discussed the draft custody bill and various changes that had been recommended or considered. SB 539 was introduced as a standalone and passed the Senate with one change. It will now cross over to the Rules Committee in the House. The Marriage Bill was amended on the floor to age 16, with some conditions. Committee Chair Brooks will continue to follow these two bills.

Presentation: Shared Hope International Grading Criteria Audra Padget & Team, CACNC

Staff Attorney, Audra Padget, from Child Advocacy Centers of North Carolina formed a team of interns to review the new report criteria that will be issued on each state in November 2021. Shared Hope's previous state report cards focused on the criminal side of human trafficking and the new report focus will be on victim protections within laws. The team created a power point to summarize each section of the report to include notes about NC law. The presentation will be continued at the next committee meeting but contains many potential areas for the committee to look at in future bill recommendations.

Adjournment 11:30am

Committee Chair Brooks adjourned the meeting at 11:30am. The Human Trafficking Commission staff will send out the next meeting announcement.

Committee Chair, Caitlin Brooks

Committee Chair, Caitlin Brooks

Committee Chair, Caitlin Brooks

Committee Chair Brooks