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Analysis of North Carolina Sentencing for Human Trafficking Violations and Industry 
Specific Recommendations  

 
 

Part I: Analysis of North Carolina Sentencing Statutes  
 

1. Human	Trafficking	Sentences	in	North	Carolina:	
	

I. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-43.11.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	C	felony		

i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max		
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	B2	felony	
i. I:	94-125	min	to	157-196	max	
ii. VI:	189-251min	to	314-393	max	

c. *Cumulative	for	each	violation		
II. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-43.12.	Involuntary	Servitude.		

a. Adult	Victim:	Class	F	felony		
i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	Felony		
i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max	
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

III. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-202.13.	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	D	felony		

i. I:	38-51	min	to	64-80	max	
ii. VI:	77-103	to	128-160	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	felony	
i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max	
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

IV. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-202.14.	Unlawful	Sale,	Surrender,	or	Purchase	of	a	Minor.		
a. Class	F	felony	and	$5,000.00	fine		

i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

b. Each	subsequent	violation:	Class	F	felony	and	$10,000.00	
i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

 
2. 			Analysis	of	sentencing	on	National	level		



 
 

 
In terms of Human Trafficking in the first degree, North Carolina has the 

harshest sentences for adult trafficking in the nation. In fact, the changes made in the 
last legislative session took North Carolina from the seventh harshest sentence for adult 
victims in the US to the harshest overall. North Carolina already had the harshest laws 
for human trafficking of minor victims, but these laws were made even harsher in the 
last session. Human trafficking in the first degree has the potential to carry harshest 
sentence nationally when it is applied to minor victims as an offender with a prior 
record level of VI could be sentenced to a maximum of 314-393 years imprisonment.1 
Most human trafficking statutes cap their sentences at life imprisonment rather than 
carrying this sentence length. 
 
 Of all of the states that have a separate offense for labor trafficking or involuntary 
servitude, North Carolina has the harshest sentence for minor victims and the third 
harshest for adult victims.2 Of all of the states that have a separate offense for sex 
trafficking, North Carolina carries the harshest sentence for both adult and minor 
victims.  
 

3. Sentencing	Recommendation		
 

Based off an analysis of a national survey of human trafficking sentences, it is 
recommended that the sentencing for North Carolina’s human trafficking statutes 
remain the same. North Carolina’s human trafficking sentences are among the harshest 
in the country. As such, the sentences in North Carolina meet the suggestions of the 
State Department under the TVPA as they involve significant jail time, with a majority of 
sentences being one year imprisonment or more.3 These sentences, used effectively, 
should curb human trafficking in North Carolina. 
 
Part II: Industry Specific Recommendations for Massage Regulations  
 

1. Analysis	of	Massage	Portions	of	SL-2017-151		
 

Overall, the licensing scheme established by this bill for massage establishments 
is in line with those of other states who have elected to have a state licensing board for 
massage establishments and therapists. The board will license massage establishments 
in addition to practitioners themselves, which places the burden on establishments to 
meet the state requirements rather than workers. This is a good, strong anti-trafficking 
measure along with requiring initial and periodic inspections for massage and bodywork 
establishments.  
                                                   
1	8	states	in	the	U.S.	carry	a	max	sentence	of	life	imprisonment	for	human	trafficking	of	a	
minor	victim.		
2	Behind	both	Georgia	and	Nebraska,	who	both	carry	a	maximum	sentence	of	50	years	
imprisonment.		
3	Punishing	Trafficking	Offenders	Adequately,	
https://www.state.gov/j/tip/rls/tiprpt/2008/105378.htm.	



 
 

 
2. Recommendations	for	North	Carolina	Massage	Laws		

 
It is recommended that North Carolina add more anti-trafficking measures to 

their state-wide massage laws such as:  
 

• Regulating	hours	of	operation		
• Prohibiting	structures	like	buzzer-controlled	front	doors	and	back-door	

entrances	that	obscure	buyer	behavior		
Resources:  

• Human	Trafficking	in	Illicit	Massage	Businesses	(specifically	Creating	Strong	Laws,	
pgs.	51-52):	
https://polarisproject.org/sites/default/files/Full_Report_Human_Trafficking_in_Illi
cit_Massage_Businesses.pdf	

• Delaware	statewide	massage	law		
 

 
 
 
 
 


