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Study Guidelines: 

 
STUDY SENTENCING AND POST-CONVICTION RELIEF FOR HUMAN 
TRAFFICKING OFFENSES 
SECTION 8.(a) Study. – The North Carolina Human Trafficking Commission, in 
consultation with the Conference of District Attorneys and the Office of Indigent Defense 
Services, shall study the human trafficking offenses set forth in Article 10A of Chapter 14 of 
the General Statutes. At a minimum, the study shall consider (i) the appropriate level of 
sentencing for each offense, (ii) whether any revisions to the sentencing levels would reduce 
human trafficking, and (iii) the effects of expanding the eligibility of any post-conviction 
relief to human trafficking victims. 

 
National Survey of Human Trafficking Sentences  

 
North Carolina 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

	
North Carolina uses a punishment grid for their felony sentences. The grid 

holds a maximum and minimum sentence for each felony, including a sliding 
scale depending on the amount of points given for the prior criminal record of the 
defendant.1 For all human trafficking violations, each offense is a separate 
offense. 
 
b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-43.11.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	F	felony		

i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	felony	
i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max	
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

c. *Cumulative	for	each	violation		
                                                   
1	https://www.nccourts.gov/documents/publications/punishment-grids	



 
 

II. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-43.12.	Involuntary	Servitude.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	F	felony		

i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	Felony		
i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max	
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

III. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-202.13.	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	D	felony		

i. I:	38-51	min	to	64-80	max	
ii. VI:	77-103	to	128-160	max	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	felony	
i. I:	44-58	min	to	73-92	max	
ii. VI:	87-117	min	to	146-182	max	

IV. N.C.	Gen.	Stat.	§	14-202.14.	Unlawful	Sale,	Surrender,	or	Purchase	of	a	Minor.		
a. Class	F	felony	and	$5,000.00	fine		

i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

b. Each	subsequent	violation:	Class	F	felony	and	$10,000.00	
i. I:	10-13	min	to	16-20	max		
ii. VI:	20-26	min	to	33-41	max	

 
All Other State and Federal Sentences 

 
Federal 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The federal sentencing guidelines are put out every year by the United States 

Sentencing Commission. The last comprehensive guidelines manual was published in 
2016.2 The handbook outlines how every sentence should be treated for each violation of 
federal law, including when sentences should be lowered or extended according to 
mitigating or aggravating circumstances. According to these guidelines, the base offense 
level for human trafficking based crimes is set at 22, which ranges from 41-51 years 
imprisonment without any criminal record to 84-105 years imprisonment with 13 or 
more points on the offender’s criminal record.3 If the victim sustained serious bodily 
injury or life-threatening bodily injury, this increases by 4 levels, 2 levels if serious 
bodily injury was inflicted.4 If a dangerous weapon was brandished or threatened, the 
                                                   
2	United	States	Sentencing	Commission	Guidelines	Manual	2016,	US	Sentencing	
Commission,	available	at	https://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/guidelines-
manual/2016/GLMFull.pdf.	
3	Id.	at	240,	420.	
4	Id.	at	240.	



 
 

level is increased by 2, 4 levels if the weapon is used.5 If a victim was held in a condition 
of servitude for more than a year, increase by 3 levels, 180 days to a year, increase by 2 
levels, and for 30-180 days, increase by 1 level.6 However, each individual trafficking 
statute also has stated sentences. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
 

I. 18	U.S.C.	§	1589.	Forced	Labor.	
a. 20	years	imprisonment	max	and	fine		
b. If	the	violation	includes	death,	kidnaping,	an	attempt	to	kidnap,	aggravated	

sexual	abuse,	or	an	attempt	to	kill:	any	term	or	years	or	life	imprisonment,	
fine,	or	both	

II. 18	U.S.C.	§	1590.	Trafficking	with	Respect	to	Peonage,	Slavery,	Involuntary	
Servitude,	or	Forced	Labor.		
a. 20	years	imprisonment	max	and	fine		
b. If	the	violation	includes	death,	kidnaping,	an	attempt	to	kidnap,	aggravated	

sexual	abuse,	or	an	attempt	to	kill:	any	term	of	years	or	life	imprisonment,	
fine	or	both	

III. 18	U.S.C.	§	1591.	Sex	Trafficking	of	Children	or	By	Force.	
a. Minor	victim	under	14:	15	years	to	life	imprisonment,	fine	or	both	
b. Minor	victim	under	18:	10	years	to	life	imprisonment,	fine	or	both	
c. Obstruction:	20	years	imprisonment	max,	fine	or	both	

IV. 18	U.S.C.	§	1592.	Unlawful	Conduct	with	Respect	to	Documents	in	Furtherance	of	
Trafficking,	Peonage,	Slavery,	Involuntary	Servitude,	or	Forced	Labor.		
a. 5	years	max	imprisonment,	fine	or	both		

 
Alabama 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

The Sentences for felonies are outlined in Ala. Code § 13A-5-6. If a criminal 
defendant has been convicted of a felony previously, Ala. Code § 13-5-9 provides 
for harsher penalties. Additionally, a fine may be given according to Ala. Code § 
13A-5-11. Mitigating and aggravating circumstances may be offered according to 
Ala. Code § 13A-5-45 in sentencing hearings. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Ala.	Code	§	13A-6-152.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	First	Degree	
a. Class	A	felony7	

i. 10	years	min.	to	99	years	max.		
                                                   
5	Id.	240.	
6	Id.	at	241.	
7	This	is	the	highest	felony	category	in	Alabama.		



 
 

II. Ala.	Code	§	13A-6-153.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	Second	Degree	
a. Class	B	felony		

i. 2	years	min.	to	20	years	max.		
	

Alaska 
 

a) Sentencing	Guidelines		
 

The sentencing guidelines for Alaska’s felonies is located under code section 
12.55.125 in the Alaska Code.8  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Alaska	Stat.	§	11.41.360.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	first	degree	
a. Class	A	felony	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max		
ii. If	first	offense,	5-8	years	imprisonment		
iii. If	first	offense	and	possessed	a	firearm,	dangerous	instrument,	or	

caused	serious	injury	or	death,	or	otherwise	knowingly	directed	
conduct	at	a	peace	officer,	7-11	years	imprisonment		

iv. If	second	felony	conviction,	10-14	years	imprisonment		
v. If	third	felony	conviction,	15-20	years	imprisonment	

II. Alaska	Stat.	§	11.41.365.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	second	degree.	
a. Class	B	felony	

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max		
ii. If	first	felony:	1-3	years	imprisonment		
iii. If	second	felony:	4-7	years	imprisonment		
iv. If	third	felony:	3-5	years	imprisonment		

 
Arizona 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
Arizona’s sentencing provisions are released annually and found on their court 

website.9 The guidelines have a chart that introduces a range of sentences for each 
misdemeanor and felony. For felonies, this breaks down between non-dangerous 
offenses, dangerous offenses, repetitive offenses, and dangerous crimes against 
children.10 Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-701 outlines how these sentences are commuted. The 
court must consider aggravating circumstances such as, offense involving the 1) 
                                                   
8	Alaska	Stat.	§	12.55.125.	Sentences	of	Imprisonment	for	felonies.		
9	Criminal	Code	Sentencing	Provisions,	2017-2018	(Aug.	9,	2017)	,	available	at	
https://www.azcourts.gov/Portals/0/CriminalSentencingCt/2017Sentencing.pdf.		
10	Id.	at	1-2.		



 
 

infliction of serious physical injury; 2) threatened use or possession of a deadly weapon 
or dangerous instrument during the commission of the crime; 3) value of property 
damaged; 4) presence of an accomplice; 5) especially heinous, cruel or depraved manner 
of offense; 6) committed offense in exchange for payment; 7) Defendant public servant 
at time of offense; 8) Victim or victim’s family suffered physical, emotional, or financial 
harm; 9) death of unborn child; 10) defendant previously convicted felony; 11) victim 65 
years or older or disabled; 12) hate crime; 13) presence of lying in wait; 14) presence of a 
child; 15) whistleblower retaliation; etc. For the purposes of this study, we will assume 
that human trafficking offenses are dangerous offenses.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Ariz.	Rev.	Stat.	§	13-1306.	Unlawfully	Obtaining	Labor	or	Services;	Classification.	
a. Class	4	felony	

i. First	offense:	4-8	years	imprisonment		
ii. One	Historical	prior:	8-12	years	imprisonment		
iii. Two	historical	priors:	12-16	years	imprisonment		
iv. Second	dangerous	offense:	6-10	years	imprisonment		
v. Third	and	subsequent	dangerous	offenses:	10-15	years	imprisonment		

II. Ariz.	Rev.	Stat.	§	13-1307.	Sex	Trafficking;	Classification;	Definitions.		
a. Class	2	felony11	

i. First	Offense:		7-21	years	imprisonment	
ii. One	historical	prior:	14-28	years	imprisonment		
iii. Two	historical	priors:	21-35	years	imprisonment		
iv. Second	dangerous	offense:	10.5-16.25	years	imprisonment	
v. Third	and	subsequent	dangerous	offenses:	15.75-35	years	

imprisonment	
  

Arkansas 
 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The Arkansas Sentencing Grid is available on the Arkansas state website where it 

is published annually.12 This guide grades each offense according to seriousness, giving 
each violation a ranking of 1-10. This ranking corresponds to the standards grid, which 
gives a chart of offense seriousness, in relation to criminal history scores of 0-5+. The 
individual statutes give a class to each felony, which is then looked up on this sentencing 
grid and guide to allow the judiciary to find a suitable sentence.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
                                                   
11	Highest	felony	class	in	Arizona		
12	Arkansas	Sentencing	Standards	Grid	&	Seriousness	Reference	Table	(Jun.	14,	2017),	
available	at	http://www.arkansas.gov/asc/pdfs/Proposed-Seriousness-Reference-Table-
and-Grid-MARK-UP-COPY.pdf.	



 
 

 
I. Ark.	Code	§	5-18-103.	Trafficking	of	Persons.	

a. Adult	Victim:	Class	A	felony		
i. Generally,	Seriousness:	8		

1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	8-15	years	imprisonment	
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	20-50	years	imprisonment	

ii. Trafficking	of	persons,	selling	or	advertising	travel	services:	8		
1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	8-15	years	imprisonment	
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	20-50	years	imprisonment	

iii. Patronizing	human	trafficking	victim:	seriousness	7	
1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	5-10	years	imprisonment	
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	15-40	years	imprisonment	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	Y	felony	
i. Generally:	Seriousness:	9	

1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	15-25	years	imprisonment		
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	40-60	years	imprisonment	

ii. Trafficking	of	Persons,	selling	or	advertising	travel	services	with	
minor	victim:	seriousness	9	

1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	15-25	years	imprisonment		
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	40-60	years	imprisonment	

iii. Patronizing	minor	human	trafficking	victim:	8	
1. 0	Criminal	history	score:	8-15	years	imprisonment	
2. 5+	criminal	history	score:	20-50	years	imprisonment	

c. A	$250	fine	
California 

 
 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
According to Cal. Pen. Code § 1170, courts go by the sentences prescribed by 

statute. However, the California rules of court outlines felony sentencing laws under 
Chapter 5 containing aggravating and mitigating factors for sentencing.13  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Cal.	Pen.	Code	§	236.1.	
a. Forced	labor	

i. imprisonment	of	5,8,	or	12	years	and	max	fine	$500,000	
b. Sex	trafficking	

i. 	imprisonment	of	8,	14,	or	20	years	with	max	fine	$500,000	
c. Minor	victim,	commercial	sex	act:		

i. Imprisonment	of	5,	8,	or	12	years	and	max	fine	of	$500,000	
                                                   
13	California	Rules	of	Court,	available	at	
http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=four	



 
 

ii. Imprisonment	of	15-	life	and	max	fine	$500,000	
1. If	the	offense	involves	force,	fear,	fraud,	deceit,	coercion,	

violence,	duress,	menace,	or	threat	of	unlawful	injury	to	the	
victim	or	to	another	person	

II. Cal.	Pen.	Code	§	236.4.	
a. Additional	to	§	236.1,	fine	of	1	million	max		
b. If	great	bodily	harm	committed	in	the	commission	or	attempt,	an	additional	

and	consecutive	term	of	5,	7,	or	10	years	
c. If	prior	conviction	of	236.1,	additional	and	consecutive	term	of	5	years	for	

each	additional	conviction	on	charges	separately	brought	and	tried	
	

Colorado 
  

a) Sentencing	Guidelines		
 

The guidelines for Colorado’s felony sentences are located in Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-
1.3-401.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Colo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	18-3-503.	Human	Trafficking	of	a	minor	for	Involuntary	
Servitude	
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	3	felony		

i. 4-12	years	imprisonment	(three	years	probation)	
b. Minor	Victim:	Class	2	felony	

i. 8-24	years	imprisonment	(5	years	probation)	
II. Colo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	18-3-504.	Human	Trafficking	for	Sexual	Servitude,	Human	

Trafficking	of	a	Minor	for	Sexual	Servitude.	
a. Commercial	sex	trafficking,	Adult	Victim:	Class	3	felony		

i. 4-12	years	imprisonment	(three	years	probation)	
b. Commercial	sex	trafficking,	Minor	Victim:	Class	2	felony14	

i. 8-24	years	imprisonment	(5	years	probation)	
	

	
Connecticut 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The sentences for felonies in Connecticut are contained in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-
35a.  

 
b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	

                                                   
14	Mandatory	sentence	of	at	least	the	minimum	range		



 
 

	
I. Conn.	Gen.	Stat.	§	53a-192a.	Trafficking	in	Persons:	Class	B	Felony.	

a. Class	B	felony	
i. 1-20	years	imprisonment	

II. Conn.	Gen.	Stat.	§	53a-196i.	Commercial	Sexual	Exploitation	of	a	Minor;	Class	C	
Felony.	
a. Class	C	felony	

i. 1-10	years	imprisonment	
 

District of Columbia 
	
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
In D.C., the penalties for sex trafficking are contained in D.C. Code §22-1837. The 

penalties range from punishing based on the amount of time that the victim was held to 
statute specific punishments.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. D.C.	Code	§22-1837.	Penalties.		
a. Violations	of	§	22-1832	(Forced	Labor),	§	22-1833	(Trafficking	in	Labor	or	

Commercial	Sex	Acts),	or	§	22-1834	(Sex	Trafficking	of	Children):	fined	not	
more	than	guidelines	of	D.C.	Code	§	22–3571.0115	and	max	imprisonment	of	
20	years,	or	both	

b. Victim	held	longer	than	180	days	during	violation	of	§	22-1832	(Forced	
Labor),	§	22-1833	(Trafficking	in	Labor	or	Commercial	Sex	Acts),	or	§	22-
1834	(Sex	Trafficking	of	Children):	max	fine	1.5	times	the	max	fine	
authorized	by	D.C.	Code	§	22–3571.01,	imprisoned	for	not	more	than	1.5	
times	the	max	term	for	a	charge	

c. Unlawful	Conduct	with	Respect	to	Documents	in	furtherance	of	Human	
Trafficking:	Not	more	than	5	years	and	fine	specified	by	D.C.	Code	§	22–
3571.01	

d. Benefitting	financially	from	human	trafficking:	imprisoned	for	not	more	than	
half	the	max	term	of	imprisonment	for	each	violation,	max	fine	in	D.C.	Code	§	
22–3571.01	

e. Attempt:	not	fined	more	than	half	the	max	for	each	offense,	imprisoned	for	
half	the	max	of	the	offense,	or	both		

f. No	consecutive	sentences	for	violations	of	§§	 22-1833	(Trafficking	in	Labor	
or	Commercial	Sex	Acts)	and	22-1834	(Sex	Trafficking	of	Children)	arising	
from	one	incident	

	
Delaware 

                                                   
15	This	is	a	sliding	scale	that	is	based	on	the	length	of	imprisonment	for	each	charge		



 
 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The sentences for felonies in Delaware are contained in Del. Code tit. 11 §4205. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
 

I. Del.	Code	tit.	11,	§	787.	Trafficking	of	an	individual,	forced	labor	and	sexual	
servitude,	class	D	felony;	Class	B	felony;	Class	A	Felony.		
a. Trafficking	an	individual	

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	C	felony	
1. 15	years	imprisonment	max		

ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	B	felony	
1. 2-25	years	imprisonment	

b. Forced	Labor	
i. Adult	Victim:	Class	C	felony		

1. 15	years	imprisonment	max		
ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	B	felony	

1. 2-25	years	imprisonment	
c. Sexual	Servitude		

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	C	felony		
1. 15	years	imprisonment	max		

ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	B	felony	
1. 2-25	years	imprisonment	

d. Patronizing	victim	of	sexual	servitude:	
i. Adult	Victim:	Class	D	felony		

1. 8	years	imprisonment	max		
ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	felony		

1. 15	years	imprisonment	max		
e. Aggravated	circumstance16	

i. Elevated	by	1	felony	grade	higher	than	the	underlying	offense	
	

Florida 
 

a) Sentencing	Guidelines		
Under Fla. Stat. § 921.0024, a worksheet is used to add up a point system that 

results in a total offense score that allows for an offender to be sentenced under the law. 
The general penalties for felonies are located in Fla. Stat. § 775.082.  

 
                                                   
16 The person recruited, enticed, or obtained the victim from a shelter designed to serve 
victims of human trafficking, victims of domestic violence, victims of sexual assault, 
runaway youth, foster children, or the homeless; or b. The person used or threatened 
use of force against, abduction of, serious harm to, or physical restraint of the victim. 
	



 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Fla.	Stat.	§	787.06.	Human	Trafficking.	
a. Labor	services	of	any	child	under	the	age	of	18:	first	degree	felony	

i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	
b. Coercion	for	labor	of	an	adult:	first	degree	felony		

i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	
c. Coercion	for	commercial	sexual	activity	of	an	adult:	first	degree	felony		

i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	
d. Labor	or	services	of	any	child	under	18	who	is	an	unauthorized	alien:	first	

degree	felony		
i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	

e. Coercion	for	commercial	sexual	activity	of	an	adult	who	is	an	unauthorized	
alien:	first	degree	felony		

i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	
f. Labor	or	services	by	transfer	or	transport	of	any	child	under	the	age	of	18	

from	outside	this	state	to	within	the	state:	first	degree	felony		
i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	

g. Commercial	sexual	activity	who	does	so	by	the	transfer	or	transport	of	any	
child	under	the	age	of	18	from	outside	this	state	to	within	the	state:	first	
degree	felony		

i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	
h. Coercion	for	commercial	sexual	activity	by	the	transfer	or	transport	of	an	

adult	from	outside	this	state	to	within	the	state:	first	degree	felony	
i. 30	years	imprisonment	max	

i. Every	instance	is	a	separate	crime,	with	separate	punishment	authorized	
	

Georgia 
 

a) Sentencing	Guidelines		
 

The sentencing for crimes in Georgia is listed within the statute that contains the 
crime that the offender committed. However, according to the crime severity level, 
probation will also be a period of probation after their sentence has been served.17 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. Ga.	Code	Ann.	§	16-5-46.	Trafficking	for	Labor	or	sexual	servitude.		

                                                   
17	Crime	Severity	Levels,	available	at	
https://pap.georgia.gov/sites/pap.georgia.gov/files/ParoleConsideration/Notice%20of%2
0Action%202013%20Oct%20CSL%20Revision.pdf.	



 
 

a. Labor	servitude,	minor	victim	or	victim	with	developmental	disability:	felony	
punishable	by	imprisonment	of	25-50	years	or	life	imprisonment	and	max	
fine	of	100,000.00	

b. Trafficking	an	individual	for	sexual	servitude:	felony	punishable	by	
imprisonment	of	10-20	years		

c. Trafficking	a	minor	for	sexual	servitude	(or	individual	with	developmental	
disability):	felony	punishable	by	imprisonment	of	25-50	years	or	life	
imprisonment		

d. Solicitation	of	victim	of	sexual	servitude:	felony.		
i. If	16	or	17:	punishable	by	imprisonment	for	5-20	years		
ii. If	under	16	or	known	developmental	disability:	imprisonment	of	10-

20	years		
	

Hawaii 
 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
According to Haw. Rev. Stat. § 706-606, the nature and circumstances of the 

offense as well as the seriousness of the offense, the ability of the punishment to deter 
future crimes, protection of the public, and rehabilitating the offender must all be 
considered prior to sentencing. Sentences for felonies are located under Haw. Rev. Stat. 
§§ 659-660. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Haw.	Rev.	Stat.	§	707-781.	Labor	trafficking	in	the	first	degree.		
a. Class	A	felony	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine		
II. Haw.	Rev.	Stat.	§	707-782.	Labor	trafficking	in	the	second	degree.		

a. Class	B	felony	
i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine	

b. If	it	involves	kidnapping,	attempt	to	kidnap,	sexual	assault	in	the	first,	second	
or	third	degree,	or	attempt	to	commit	sexual	assault,	or	if	death	results:	class	
A	felony	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine		
III. Haw. Rev. Stat. § 707-784. Extended terms of imprisonment; labor trafficking 

offenses.  
a. If	convicted	of	707-781	or	707-782	and	it	resulted	in	bodily	injury	

i. Bodily	injury:	additional	2	years	imprisonment	
ii. Substantial	bodily	injury:	additional	5	years	imprisonment	
iii. Serious	bodily	injury:	additional	15	years	imprisonment	
iv. Death:	sentencing	according	to	applicable	homicide	statute	

IV. Haw.	Rev.	Stat.	§	707-786.	Nonpayment	of	wages.		
a. Fine	of	$2,000	min	to	$10,000	max	



 
 

b. If	amount	owed	is	$2,000	or	more	or	the	convicted	defendant	denies	the	
amount	of	denied	wages:	Class	C	felony	

i. 5	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine		
c. If	the	amount	owed	is	less	than	$2,000:	misdemeanor	
d. Each	pay	period	counts	as	a	separate	offense	

V. Haw. Rev. Stat. § 707-787. Unlawful conduct with respect to documents.  
a. Class C felony 

i. 5	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine		
VI. Haw. Rev. Stat. §712-1202  Sex trafficking.  

a. Class A felony 
i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine		

VII. §712-1203 Promoting prostitution.   
a. Class B felony 

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine	
 

Idaho 
 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
Idaho provides an online tool through the judiciary that allows for sentences to 

be evaluated or an estimate to be given. The tool takes into consideration the offense, 
the age, gender, and age of the offender, the level of service inventory (LSI) score of the 
offender, prior convictions, alcoholism, and drug addictions into account to give a 
sentencing range.18 The sentence for each offense is given in the statute that contains the 
code violation.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Idaho	Code	Ann.	§	18-8603.	Human	Trafficking	Penalties.		
a. 25	years	imprisonment	max19	
	

Illinois 
 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
Each individual felony has its own sentencing statute under the Illinois code. A 

class X felony is covered under 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-4.5-25. A Class 1 felony is 
covered under 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-4.5-30. A Class 2 felony is covered under 730  Ill. 
                                                   
18	This	tool	is	available	at	https://sentencing.isc.idaho.gov.	
19	Unless	a	more	severe	penalty	can	be	applied	by	law	such	as	aggravated	assault,	
aggravated	battery,	assault	with	intent	to	commit	a	serious	felony,	battery	with	intent	to	
commit	a	serious	felony,	felonious	administering	of	drugs,	felony	injury	to	child,	felony	
injury	to	vulnerable	adult,	felony	exploitation	of	vulnerable	adult,	sexual	abuse	and	
exploitation	of	vulnerable	adult,	etc.		



 
 

Comp. Stat. 5/5-4.5-35. A Class 3 felony is covered under 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-4.5.-
40. A Class 4 felony is covered under 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-4.5-45. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. 720	Ill.	Comp.	Stat.	5/10-9.	Trafficking	in	Persons,	Involuntary	Servitude,	
and	related	offenses.		
a. Involuntary	Servitude		

i. Causes	or	threatens	to	cause	physical	harm	to	any	person:	Class	X	
felony		

1. 6-30	years	imprisonment	
2. Extended	term:	30-60	years		

ii. Physically	restrains	or	threatens	to	physically	restrain	another	
person:	Class	1	felony		

1. 4-15	years	imprisonment		
2. Extended	term:	15-30	years	imprisonment		

iii. Abuses	or	threatens	to	abuse	the	law	or	legal	process:	Class	2	felony		
1. 3-7	years	imprisonment		
2. Extended	term:7-14	years	imprisonment		

iv. Knowingly	destroys,	conceals,	removes,	confiscates,	or	possesses	any	
actual	or	purported	government	identification	document	of	another	
person:	Class	3	felony		

1. 2-5	years	imprisonment		
2. Extended	term:	5-10	years	imprisonment	

v. Uses	intimidation,	or	exerts	financial	control	over	any	person:	Class	4	
felony	

1. 1-3	years	imprisonment		
2. Extended	term:	3-6	years	imprisonment	

vi. Uses	any	scheme,	plan,	or	pattern	intended	to	cause	the	person	to	
believe	that,	if	the	person	did	not	perform	the	labor	or	services,	that	
person	or	another	person	would	suffer	serious	harm	or	physical	
restraint:	Class	4	felony	

1. 1-3	years	imprisonment		
2. Extended	term:	3-6	years	imprisonment	

b. Involuntary	Sexual	Servitude	of	a	Minor		
i. There	is	no	overt	force	or	threat	and	the	minors	between	the	ages	of	
17	and	18	years		

1. Class	1	felony	
a. 4-15	years	imprisonment		
b. Extended	term:	15-30	years	imprisonment		

ii. There	is	no	overt	force	or	threat	and	the	minor	is	under	the	age	of	17	
years		

1. Class	X	felony	
a. 6-30	years	imprisonment	



 
 

b. Extended	term:	30-60	years		
iii. There	is	no	overt	force	or	threat	

1. Class	X	felony	
a. 6-30	years	imprisonment	
b. Extended	term:	30-60	years		

c. Trafficking	in	Persons	
i. Class	1	felony	

a. 4-15	years	imprisonment		
b. Extended	term:	15-30	years	imprisonment		

d. Aggravating	factors		
i. If	involves	kidnapping	or	an	attempt	to	kidnap,	aggravated	criminal	
sexual	assault	or	an	attempt	to	commit	aggravated	criminal	sexual	
assault	or	an	attempt	to	commit	first	degree	murder:	Class	X	felony	

a. 6-30	years	imprisonment	
b. Extended	term:	30-60	years		

e. Sentencing	Considerations:		
i. Bodily	injury:	extended	sentence		

1. Also	increase	penalties	for	cases	in	which	the	victim	was	held	
between	180	days	and	one	year	and	increased	penalties	for	
holding	a	victim	for	more	than	one	year	

ii. Number	of	victims:	take	into	account	number	of	victims	and	increase	
sentences	substantially	for	cases	where	there	were	more	than	10	
victims	

	
Indiana 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
Indiana uses a sentencing calculator to calculate sentences for each offender that 

is located on their judiciary’s website.20  This calculator takes into account credit 
classifications for the offender based off their sentencing level, time served, and their 
start date. The sentences for each felony are located in Ind. Code §§ 35-50-2-4 – 35-50-
2-7. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Ind.	Code	§	35-42-3.5-1.	Promotion	of	human	trafficking;	sexual	trafficking	of	a	
minor;	human	trafficking.	
a. Promotion	of	human	trafficking:	Level	4	felony		

i. 2-12	years	imprisonment,	6	years	advisory	sentence	and	$10,000	max	
fine		

b. Promotion	of	human	trafficking	of	a	minor:	Level	3	felony		

                                                   
20This	tool	can	be	found	here:		https://www.in.gov/judiciary/4720.htm.	



 
 

i. 3-16	years	imprisonment,	9	years	advisory	sentence,	and	$10,000	
max	fine	

c. Sexual	Trafficking	of	a	minor:	Level	2	felony	
i. 10-30	years	imprisonment,	17	and	a	half	years	advisory	sentence	and	
$10,000	max	fine	

d. Human	Trafficking:	Level	5	felony	
i. 1-6	years	imprisonment,	advisory	sentence	of	3	years,	and	$10,000	
max	fine	

	
Iowa 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
A guidelines for sentencing in Iowa can be found on the Iowa Courts website.21 

The sentencing takes into consideration the general penalty for the offense, any 
enhancements or minimums, specific penalties that may be added, and greater and 
lesser mandatories. The general sentences for all felonies can be found under Chapter 
902 of the Iowa code.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
 

I. Iowa	Code	§	710A.2.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Human	Trafficking	

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	“D”	felony		
1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		

ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	“C”	felony		
1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	

b. Human	Trafficking	by	causing	or	threatening	to	cause	serious	physical	injury	
to	another	person		

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	“C”	felony	
1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	

ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	“B”	felony		
1. 25	years	imprisonment	max		

c. Human	trafficking	by	physically	restraining	or	threatening	to	physically	
restrain	another	person		

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	“D”	felony	
1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		

ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	“C”	felony	
1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	

d. Human	Trafficking	by	soliciting	services	or	benefitting	from	the	services	of	a	
victim	

i. Adult	Victim:	Class	“D”	felony	
                                                   
21	This	guide	is	available	at	
https://www.iowacourts.gov/static/media/cms/2014_chart_E9203DF084AC2.pdf.	



 
 

1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		
ii. Minor	Victim:	Class	“C”	felony	

1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	
e. Human	Trafficking	by	abusing	or	threatening	to	abuse	the	law	or	legal	

process	
i. Adult	victim:	Class	“D”	felony	

1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		
ii. Minor	victim:	Class	“C”	felony	

1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	
f. Human	Trafficking	by	knowingly	destroying,	concealing,	removing,	

confiscating,	or	possessing	any	actual	or	purported	passport	or	other	
immigration	document	or	purported	government	identification	document	of	
a	victim:		

i. Adult	victim:	Class	“D”	felony		
1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		

ii. Minor	victim:	Class	“C”	felony		
1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	

g. Benefitting	financially	or	receiving	anything	of	value	from	knowing	
participation	in	human	trafficking		

i. Adult	victim:	Class	“D”	felony		
1. 5	years	imprisonment	max	and	$750	-	$7,500	fine		

ii. Minor	victim:	Class	C”	felony		
1. 10	years	imprisonment	max	and	$1,000-$10,000	fine	

	
Kansas 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
Kansas decides felony sentences based on the current crime and the offender’s 

criminal history. This information is used, together with a grid box, to determine what 
the sentence for any violation would be.22 The sentences for felonies are located Article 
66 of the Kansas Code.  
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
 

I. Kan.	Stat.	Ann.	§	21-5426.	Human	Trafficking,	Aggravated	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Human	Trafficking:	Severity	Level	2,	person	felony		

i. 181-493	years	imprisonment		

                                                   
22	See	Judiciary,	Corrections	and	Juvenile	Justice,	available	at	
http://www.kslegresearch.org/KLRD-web/Publications/BriefingBook/2018Briefs/G-7-
Sentencing.pdf,	for	more	information.	The	grid	can	be	found	at	
https://sentencing.ks.gov/docs/default-source/2018-forms/2018-nondrug-and-drug-
grid-quick-reference-guide.pdf?sfvrsn=0.	



 
 

b. Aggravated	Human	Trafficking:	Severity	Level	1,	person	felony		
i. 240-653	years	imprisonment		

c. Aggravated	Human	Trafficking	and	Attempt,	conspiracy,	or	criminal	
solicitation	to	commit	aggravated	human	trafficking	when	offender	is	over	18	
and	the	minor	is	less	than	14	:	off-grid	person	felony	

i. Life	imprisonment		
Kentucky 

 
a) Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The sentences for felonies in Kentucky are located in Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 

532.060. 
 

b) Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
 

I. Ky.	Rev.	Stat.	Ann.	§	529.100.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Class	C	felony	

i. 5-10	years	imprisonment		
b. If	involves	serious	physical	injury:	Class	B	felony	

i. 10-20	years	imprisonment	
c. If	minor	victim,	elevate	penalty	one	level	higher		

II. Ky.	Rev.	Stat.	Ann.	§	529.110.	Promoting	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Adult	victim:	Class	D	felony		

i. 1-5	years	imprisonment		
b. Minor	Victim:	Class	C	felony	

i. 5-10	years	imprisonment		
	

Louisiana 
 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

The sentencing guidelines for Louisiana are contained in La. Stat. Ann. § 894.1. 
Additionally, the sentences for each violation is written into each statute.  
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. La.	Stat.	Ann.	§	14:46.2.	Human	Trafficking.	
a. $10,000	max	fine	and	10	years	imprisonment	max		
b. If	with	commercial	sexual	activity	or	any	sexual	conduct	constituting	a	crime:	

$15,000	max	fine	and	20	years	imprisonment	max		
c. Minor	victim:	$25,000	max	fine	and	5-25	years	imprisonment,	with	five	being	

without	parole,	probation,	or	suspension	of	sentence	
II. La. Stat. Ann. § 46.3. Trafficking of Children for Sexual Purposes.  

a. If	victim	is	under	18:	$50,000	max	fine,		15-50	years	imprisonment,	or	both	
b. If	victim	is	less	than	14:	$75,000	max	fine,	25-50	years	imprisonment,	or	both	



 
 

c. If	previously	convicted	sex	offender	when	the	victim	was	a	minor:	$100,000	
max	fine,	50	years	to	life	imprisonment	with	at	least	50	years	without	parole,	
probation,	or	suspension	of	sentence	

 
 

Maine 
 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		
	
The sentences for felonies in Maine are located in Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17-A § 1252. 
	
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

I. Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17-A § 852. Aggravated Sex Trafficking.  
a. Class B Crime  

i. 10 years imprisonment max 
II. Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17-A, § 853. Sex Trafficking.  

a. Promotes Prostitution: Class D Crime 
i. Less than one year max  

b. Promotes Prostitution and has 2 or more prior convictions of similar offenses: 
Class C Crime 

i. 5 years imprisonment max  

	
Maryland 

 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		
	
The Maryland Sentencing Guidelines Manual can be followed in order to 

determine what sentence an offender may serve for code violations.23 A worksheet must 
be completed that takes into account the convicted sentence for the offender, criminal 
history, date of offense, number of convicted offenses, number of criminal events, and 
the disposition type. The base sentencing for each violation is contained in the statutes 
themselves. 

	
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

 
I. Md.	Code,	Crim.	Law	§	11-303.	Pandering.24	

a. Adult	victim	(Misdemeanor	Human	Trafficking):	10	years	imprisonment	max	
and/or	a	max	fine	of	$5,000	

                                                   
23	The	manual	can	be	found	at	
http://www.msccsp.org/Files/Guidelines/MSGM/guidelinesmanual.pdf.	
24	Pandering	includes	human	trafficking	in	Maryland		



 
 

b. Minor	Victim	(Felony	Human	Trafficking):	25	years	imprisonment	max	
and/or	max	fine	of	$15,000	

c. Benefitting	from	Trafficking:	same	penalties	as	the	venture	in	which	the	
offender	participated		

d. Aiding	or	abetting:	same	penalties	as	the	venture	in	which	the	offender	
participated		

Massachusetts 
 
 

a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
Massachusetts has a comprehensive sentencing guide that is used to determine 

the sentence for a convicted offender according to the serious level of the offense, the 
criminal history of the offender, and mandatory minimums in order to utilize a 
sentencing grid.25 Further, the base sentence is located in the statutes themselves for 
each offense. 

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Mass.	Gen.	Laws	ch.	265,	§	50.	Trafficking	of	persons	for	sexual	servitude;	
trafficking	of	persons	under	18	years	for	sexual	servitude;	trafficking	by	
business	entities;	tort	actions	brought	by	victims.		
a. Trafficking	of	persons	for	sexual	servitude,	Adult	Victim:	5-20	years	

imprisonment	and	$25,000	max	fine	
i. Sentence	cannot	be	reduced	to	less	than	five	years	and	will	not	be	
eligible	for	parole	or	any	other	deduction	for	five	years	

b. Trafficking	of	persons	for	sexual	servitude,	Minor	Victim:	Life	imprisonment	
or	any	term	of	years,	but	not	less	than	5	years	

i. Sentence	cannot	be	reduced	to	less	than	five	years	and	will	not	be	
eligible	for	parole	or	any	other	deduction	for	five	years	

c. Business	entity	that	commits	trafficking:	$1,000,000	max	fine	
II. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265 § 51. Trafficking of Persons for Forced Service, Victims 

Under 18 Years, Trafficking by Business Entities, Tort Actions Brought by Victims.  

a. Trafficking of persons for forced services, Adult Victim: 5-20 years imprisonment 
and $25,000 max fine  

i. Sentence	cannot	be	reduced	to	less	than	five	years	and	will	not	be	
eligible	for	parole	or	any	other	deduction	for	five	years	

b. Trafficking	of	persons	for	forced	services,	Minor	Victim:	Life	imprisonment	
or	any	term	of	years,	but	not	less	than	5	years	

i. Sentence	cannot	be	reduced	to	less	than	five	years	and	will	not	be	
eligible	for	parole	or	any	other	deduction	for	five	years	

                                                   
25	This	sentencing	guide	is	located	at	https://www.mass.gov/law-library/massachusetts-
sentencing-guidelines-steps-and-information.	



 
 

c. Business	entity	that	commits	trafficking:	$1,000,000	max	fine	
III. Mass. Gen. Laws ch..256, § 52: Subsequent Violations of Sec. 50 or 51: Penalties; 

Evidence of Prior Adjudication or Conviction. 
a. Prior	record	of	human	trafficking	offense:	Life	imprisonment	or	any	term	of	

years,	but	not	less	than	10	years	
i. Sentence	cannot	be	reduced	to	less	than	ten	years	and	will	not	be	
eligible	for	parole	or	any	other	deduction	for	ten	years	

 
Michigan 

 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		
	
The State of Michigan utilizes a Sentencing Guidelines Manual to determine 

sentences.26 This manual uses prior record variables, scores based off the offense 
variables, the crime class and proper sentencing grid, the recommended minimum 
sentence range, and requirements for departing from the minimum range to decide 
what sentence should be given following a conviction. The base sentences are located in 
the statutes themselves.  
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences				
	

I. Mich.	Comp.	Laws	§	750.462f.	Violation	of	MCL	750.462b,	750.462c,	and	
750.462d;	violation	of	MCL	750.462e;	attempting,	conspiring,	or	soliciting	
another	to	violate	chapter;	violation	of	law	arising	out	of	same	transaction;	
consecutive	terms;	restitution.	
a. Forced	labor	or	services:		

i. Felony	punishable	by	10	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine,	
or	both	

ii. If	bodily	injury	inflicted	or	commercial	sexual	activity	results:	felony	
punishable	by	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$15,000	max	fine,	or	both	

iii. If	serious	bodily	injury	results:	felony	punishable	by	20	years	
imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	

iv. If	violation	includes	kidnapping	or	attempted	kidnapping,	criminal	
sexual	conduct	in	the	first	degree	or	an	attempt	to	kill	or	the	death	of	
an	individual:	felony	punishable	by	imprisonment	for	life	or	any	term	
of	years,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	

b. Holding	Individual	in	debt	bondage:	
i. Felony	punishable	by	10	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine,	
or	both	

ii. If	bodily	injury	inflicted	or	commercial	sexual	activity	results:	felony	
punishable	by	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$15,000	max	fine,	or	both	

                                                   
26	This	manual	can	be	found	at	https://mjieducation.mi.gov/documents/sgm-files/94-
sgm/file.	



 
 

iii. If	serious	bodily	injury	results:	felony	punishable	by	20	years	
imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	

iv. If	violation	includes	kidnapping	or	attempted	kidnapping,	criminal	
sexual	conduct	in	the	first	degree	or	an	attempt	to	kill	or	the	death	of	
an	individual:	felony	punishable	by	imprisonment	for	life	or	any	term	
of	years,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	

c. Knowingly	recruit,	entice,	harbor,	transport,	provide,	or	obtain	an	individual	
by	any	means,	knowing	that	individual	will	be	subjected	to	forced	labor	or	
services	or	debt	bondage	or	Knowingly	benefit	financially	or	receive	
anything	of	value	from	participation	in	an	enterprise,	as	that	term	is	defined	
in	section	159f,	if	the	enterprise	has	engaged	in	an	act	proscribed	under	this	
chapter.	

i. Felony	punishable	by	10	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine,	
or	both	

ii. If	bodily	injury	inflicted	or	commercial	sexual	activity	results:	felony	
punishable	by	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$15,000	max	fine,	or	both	

iii. If	serious	bodily	injury	results:	felony	punishable	by	20	years	
imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	

iv. If	violation	includes	kidnapping	or	attempted	kidnapping,	criminal	
sexual	conduct	in	the	first	degree	or	an	attempt	to	kill	or	the	death	of	
an	individual:	felony	punishable	by	imprisonment	for	life	or	any	term	
of	years,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	

d. Forced	labor	or	services	of	a	minor	for	commercial	sexual	activity	or	forced	
labor	alone	

i. Felony	punishable	by	20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	
or	both	

e. Attempting,	conspiring,	or	soliciting	to	commit	these	crimes	is	subject	to	the	
same	penalty	as	the	violations	themselves		

f. Sentences	may	be	served	consecutively	with	other	crimes		
	

Minnesota 
 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		
	
Minnesota uses Sentencing Guidelines to determine sentences for offenders 

within its state codes.27 A grid is utilized after determining the offense severity, criminal 
history, custody status at the time of the offense, and presumptive sentences. 

	
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

                                                   
27	The	Minnesota	Sentencing	Guidelines	and	Commentary	for	2018	are	located	at	
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/NewGuidelines/2018/Guidelines.pdf.	



 
 

I. Minn.	Stat.	§	609.322.	Solicitation,	Inducement,	and	Promotion	of	Prostitution;	
Sex	Trafficking	
a. Sex	trafficking	in	the	first	degree	(minor	victims):		

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Sex	trafficking	with	aggravating	factor	present28:	

i. 25	years	imprisonment	max,	$60,000	max	fine,	or	both		
c. Sex	trafficking	in	the	second	degree	(adult	victim)	

i. 15	years	imprisonment	max,	$40,000	max	fine,	or	both		
II. Minn.	Stat.	§	609.282.	Labor	Trafficking.		

a. Minor	victim:	20	years	imprisonment	max,	$40,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Adult	victim:	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$30,000	max	fine,	or	both		

 
Mississippi 

 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		

 
The Mississippi Department of Corrections publishes a Sentence Computation 

Reference Handbook that is used for determining sentences29. To compute time, the 
type of crime, length of sentence, terms and conditions of sentence, laws, pre-trial 
detention, and additional sentences are all taken into account. The sentences themselves 
contain the base sentences for each crime.  

	
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. Miss.	Code	Ann.	§	97-3-54.1.	Human	Trafficking;	Offenses.	
a. Procuring	the	Sexual	Servitude	of	a	minor:	5-30	years	imprisonment,	fine	of	

$50,000-$500,000	fine,	or	both		
b. Human	Trafficking	

i. Adult	victim:	2-20	years	imprisonment,	fine	of	$10,000-$100,000	fine,	
or	both		

ii. Minor	Victim:	5-20	years	imprisonment,	fine	of	$20,000-$100,000,	or	
both	

c. Procuring	Involuntary	Servitude	
i. Adult	victim:	2-20	years	imprisonment,	fine	of	$10,000-$100,000	fine,	
or	both		

ii. Minor	Victim:	5-20	years	imprisonment,	fine	of	$20,000-$100,000,	or	
both	

                                                   
28	Aggravating	factors	include	offender	having	committed	a	prior	qualified	a	prior	qualified	
human	trafficking-related	offense,	offense	involves	a	bodily	harm	to	the	victim,	the	victim	
was	held	in	debt	bondage	or	forced	labor	for	more	than	180	days,	or	the	offense	involved	
more	than	one	sex	trafficking	victim.	
29	This	Handbook	is	located	at	
http://www.mdoc.ms.gov/Documents/RecordsHandbook2013.pdf.	



 
 

II. Miss.	Code	Ann.	§	97-3-54.2.	Human	Trafficking	Act;	Destruction,	Concealment	
or	Confiscation	of	Passport	or	other	immigration	document	for	purpose	of	
preventing	person’s	freedom	of	movement	or	ability	to	travel;	Penalties.		
a. 5	years	imprisonment	max		

III. Miss.	Code	Ann.	§	97-3-54.3.	Human	Trafficking	Act;	Aiding,	abetting,	or	
conspiring	to	violate	human	trafficking	provisions.		
a. Person	who	aids,	abets	or	conspires	with	one	or	more	persons	to	violate	

these	laws	is	considered	a	principal	in	the	offense	and	will	be	indicted	
according	to	that	violation	

 
Missouri 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

 The Missouri Sentencing Advisory Commission publishes a handbook that serves 
as guidelines for sentencing.30 The base sentences for each human trafficking violation 
are contained within the statutes themselves.  

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	566.203.	Abusing	an	individual	through	forced	labor,	penalty.	
a. Felony	punishable	by	imprisonment	of	5-20	years	and	$250,000	max	fine	

i. If	death	results	or	violation	included	kidnapping,	attempt	to	kinap,	or	
sexual	abuse:	Class	B	felony	punishable	by	5	years	to	life	
imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	

II. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	56.206.	Trafficking	for	the	purpose	of	slavery,	involuntary	
servitude,	peonage,	or	forced	labor,	penalty.		
a. Felony	punishable	by	5-20	year	imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	

i. If	death	results	or	violation	included	kidnapping,	attempt	to	kidnap,	
or	sexual	abuse:	Class	B	felony	punishable	by	5	years	to	life	
imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	

III. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	566.209.	Trafficking	for	the	purpose	of	sexual	exploitation,	
penalty.		
a. Felony	punishable	by	5-20	years	imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	
b. If	effected	by	force,	abduction,	or	coercion:	punishable	by	10	years	–	life	

imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	
IV. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	566.210	–	Sexual	Trafficking	of	a	child,	first	degree,	penalty	31	

a. Felony	punishable	by	life	imprisonment	with	no	probation	or	parole	until	
after	25	years		

V. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	566.211.	Sexual	Trafficking	of	a	Child,	second	degree,	penalty.		
a. Felony	punishable	by	10	years	–	life	imprisonment	and	$250,000	max	fine	

                                                   
30	This	Handbook	can	be	found	at	https://www.mosac.mo.gov/file.jsp?id=102733.	
31	For	victims	under	12	years	old		



 
 

b. If	effected	by	force,	abduction,	or	coercion:	felony	punishable	by	life	
imprisonment	with	no	probation	or	parole	until	after	25	years		

VI. Mo.	Rev.	Stat.	§	566.215.	Contributing	to	Human	Trafficking	through	the	Misuse	
of	Information,	Penalty.		
a. Class	E	felony	

 
Montana 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
In Montana, Title 46, Chapter 18 of the Montana Code contains the laws that 

govern sentencing. The sentences are otherwise contained in the statutes themselves.  
 
b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. Mont.	Code	Ann.	§	45-5-702.	Trafficking	of	Persons.		
a. Adult	victim:	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Minor	victim	or	involved	aggravated	kidnapping,	sexual	intercourse	without	

consent	or	deliberate	homicide:	50	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	
fine		

II. Mont.	Code	Ann.	§	45-5-703.	Involuntary	Servitude.		
a. Adult	victim:	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	victim	or	involved	aggravated	kidnapping,	sexual	intercourse	without	

consent	or	deliberate	homicide:	50	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	
fine	

III. Mont.	Code	Ann.	§	45-5-704.	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Adult	victim:	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Minor	victim:	25	years	imprisonment	max,	$75,000	max	fine	

IV. Mont.	Code	Ann.	§	45-5-705.	Patronizing	Victim	of	Sexual	Servitude.	
a. Adult	victim:	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Child	victim:	25	years	imprisonment	max,	$75,000	max	fine	

V. Mont.	Code	Ann.	§	45-5-706.	Aggravating	Circumstance.		
a. When	defendant	recruited,	enticed,	or	obtained	the	victim	of	the	offense	from	

a	shelter	that	serves	runaway	youth,	foster	children,	homeless	persons,	or	
persons	subjected	to	human	trafficking,	domestic	violence,	or	sexual	assault:	
additional	5	years	imprisonment	consecutive	to	the	offense	

 
 

  
Nebraska 

 
	
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 



 
 

The Sentences for felonies in Nebraska are contained in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-105. 
 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

 
I. Neb.	Rev.	Stat.	§	28-831.	Human	Trafficking;	Labor	trafficking	or	sex	trafficking	

of	a	minor	or	sex	trafficking	of	a	minor;	prohibited	acts;	penalties.		
a. Labor	trafficking	of	a	minor:	Class	1B	felony	

i. 20	years	to	life	imprisonment		
b. Sex	Trafficking	of	a	minor:	Class	1B	felony	

i. 20	years	to	life	imprisonment		
c. Labor	Trafficking	(adult	victim):	Class	II	felony		

i. 1-50	years	imprisonment		
d. Sex	Trafficking	(adult	victim):	Class	II	felony	

i. 1-50	years	imprisonment		
e. Knowingly	benefitting	from	or	participating	in	a	trafficking	venture:	Class	IIA	

felony	
i. 0-20	years	imprisonment		

  
Nevada 

 
	
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The sentences for Nevada felonies are contained in Nev. Rev. Stat. § 193.130.32 

However, there are also sentences in each individual statute.  
 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

 
I. Nev.	Rev.	Stat.	§	201.300.	Pandering	and	Sex	Trafficking.		

a. Pandering:	Category	C	felony	
i. 1-5	years	imprisonment,	$10,000	max	fine	or	both		

b. Sex	Trafficking	(adult	victim):	Category	B	felony	punishable	by	3-10	years	
imprisonment	and		$10,000	max	fine	

c. Minor	Victim	(less	than	14):	Category	A	felony	punishable	by	life	
imprisonment	with	no	parole	eligibility	until	10	years	and	$10,000	max	fine	

d. Minor	victim	(14-16):	Category	A	felony	punishable	by	life	imprisonment	
with	no	parole	eligibility	until	5	years	and	$10,000	max	fine	

II. Nev.	Rev.	Stat.	§	201.320.	Living	from	earnings	of	prostitute,	penalty.	
a. Category	D	felony	

i. 1-4	years,	$5,000	max	fine,	or	both		
	

                                                   
32	For	more	information	on	Nevada	felonies	
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Research/Publications/FactSheets/CrimeCharts/Cri
meList.pdf.	



 
 

New Hampshire 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The general sentencing guidelines for the state of New Hampshire are located in 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 651.2. There are also some sentencing guidelines in some of the 
statutes themselves. 
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. N.H.	Rev.	Stat.	Ann.	§	633:7.	Interference	with	Freedom,	Trafficking	in	Persons.		
a. Adult	victim:	Class	A	felony	

i. 15	years	imprisonment	max		
b. Sex	trafficking,	Minor	Victim:	Class	A	felony	punishable	by	7-30	years	

imprisonment		
c. Knowingly	recruiting	victims	for	trafficking:	Class	A	felony		

i. 15	years	imprisonment	max	
ii. If	knew	that	victim	would	be	involved	in	commercial	sex:	felony	

punishable	by	7-30	years	imprisonment		
d. Soliciting	minor	victim	of	sex	trafficking:	Class	B	felony		

i. 7	years	imprisonment	max		
 

New Jersey 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  

 
The Manual on New Jersey Sentencing Law gives an overview of sentencing procedures, 
plea agreements, and any factors that may be used to determined sentencing.33 
Sentences for each felony are located in the statutes themselves and N.J. Rev. Stat. § 
2C:43-6. 
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. N.J.	Rev.	Stat.	§	2C:13-8.		Human	Trafficking.		
a. First	degree	crime	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	with	no	eligibility	for	parole		
ii. 20	years	imprisonment	to	life	with	no	eligibility	for	parole	before	20	

years		
iii. $25,000	max	fine	

II. N.J.	Rev.	Stat.	§	2C:13-9.	Second	Degree	Crime;	Penalties.		
a. Second	degree	crime		

i. 5-10	years	imprisonment	
                                                   
33	See	Manual	on	New	Jersey	Sentencing	Law,	available	at	
https://njcourts.gov/attorneys/assets/attyresources/manualsentencinglaw.pdf.	



 
 

b. Parole	ineligibility	for	one-third	to	one-half	of	term	of	imprisonment	or	3	
years,	whichever	one	is	greater	

c. $15,000	max	fine	
III. N.J.	Rev.	Stat.	§	2C:	13-10.	Findings,	Declarations	Relative	to	Human	Trafficking;	

Definitions.		
a. Advertising	Commercial	sexual	abuse	of	a	minor:	first	degree	crime	

punishable	of	$25,000	max	fine		
i. 10-20	years	imprisonment		

	
New Mexico 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

The sentencing guidelines for felonies in New Mexico are located in N.M. Stat. § 31-18-
15. 

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. N.M.	Stat.	§	30-52-1.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Adult	Victim:	third	degree	felony		

i. If	death	resulted:	6	years	imprisonment		
ii. Three	years	imprisonment		

b. Minor	Victim	Under	16:	second	degree	felony		
i. If	resulted	in	death:	15	years	imprisonment		
ii. Sexual	offense	against	child:	15	years	imprisonment		
iii. Sexual	exploitation	of	children:	12	years	imprisonment		
iv. 9	years	imprisonment		

c. Minor	Victim	Under	13:	first	degree	felony		
i. If	death	results:	life	imprisonment		
ii. If	aggravated	criminal	sexual	penetration:	life	imprisonment		
iii. 18	years	imprisonment		

	
	

New York 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

All of the information for New York sentencing is located on the NY Courts website.34 Additionally, all of the sentences for New York felonies are located in NY Penal Code Article 70. They are divided into violent and non violent felonies for purposes of sentencing. 
 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	

 

                                                   
34	Sentencing,	available	at	
https://www.nycourts.gov/courthelp/Criminal/sentencing.shtml.	



 
 

I. N.Y.	Penal	Law	§	230.34.	Sex	Trafficking.	
a. Class	B	felony		

i. Violent:	5-25	years	imprisonment		
ii. Non	Violent:	1-3	years	imprisonment,	25	years	max	imprisonment		

II. N.Y. Penal Law § 135.35. Labor Trafficking.  
a. Class D felony  

i. Violent: 2-7 years imprisonment  
ii. Non violent: No jail, Probation, 1-3 to 7 years imprisonment 

III. N.Y.	Penal	Law	§	135.37.	Aggravated	Labor	Trafficking	
a. Class	C	felony		

i. Violent:	3.5	years	to	15	years	imprisonment	
ii. Non	Violent:	No	Jail,	Probation,	½-15	years	imprisonment		

	
	

North Dakota 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

 The sentencing for felonies in North Dakota are located in N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-
32-01. 
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-02.	Trafficking	an	Individual.		
a. Adult	Victim:	Class	A	felony		

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Minor	Victim:	Class	AA	felony	

i. Life	imprisonment	max,	no	parole	for	30	years	max		
II. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-03.	Forced	Labor.	

a. Adult	victim:	Class	A	felony	
i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both		

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	AA	felony	
i. Life	imprisonment	max,	no	parole	for	30	years	max		

III. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-04.	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Minor	victim:	Class	AA	felony	

i. Life	imprisonment	max,	no	parole	for	30	years	max		
b. Adult	Victim:	Class	A	felony	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both		
IV. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-05.	Patronizing	a	Victim	of	Sexual	Servitude.	

a. Adult	Victim:	Class	B	felony		
i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	

b. Minor	Victim:	Class	A	felony	
i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both		

V. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-06.	Patronizing	a	minor	for	commercial	sexual	activity.		



 
 

a. With	intent	that	an	individual	engage	in	commercial	sexual	activity	with	a	
minor,	the	person	gives,		agrees	to	give,	or	offers	to	give	anything	of	value	to	
a	minor	or	other	person	that	they	may	engage	in	commercial	sexual	activity	
with	a	minor:	Class	A	felony		

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. If	The	person	gives,	agrees	to	give,	or	offers	to	give	anything	of	value	to	a	

minor	or	another	person	so	that	an	individual	may	engage	in	commercial	
sexual	activity	with	a	minor:	Class	B	felony	

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both	
VI. N.D.	Cent.	Code	§	12.1-41-08.	Aggravating	Circumstance.	

a. If	the	defendant	recruited,	enticed,	or	obtained	the	victim	of	the	offense	from	
a	shelter	that	serves	individuals	subjected	to	human	trafficking,	domestic	
violence,	or	sexual	assault,	runaway	youth,	foster	children,	or	the	homeless:	
additional	five	years		

	
Ohio 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The Supreme Court of Ohio has many guides that aid in sentencing, including the 

Felony Sentencing Quick Reference Guide.35  It outlines factors that must be considered, 
mandatory prison terms, and optional prison terms. All human trafficking sentences are 
listed under mandatory prison terms.  
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Ohio	Rev.	Code	§	2905.32.	Trafficking	in	Persons.	
a. First	degree	felony	punishable	by	10-15	years		

II. Ohio	Rev.	Code	§	2941.1422.	Mandatory	Prison	Term-	Furtherance	of	Human	
Trafficking.		
a. Felony	sentenced	under	(b)(7)	of	Ohio	Rev.	Code	§	2929.14	precluded	unless	

offender	is	convicted	of	a	felony	under	the	code		
III. Ohio	Rev.	Code	§	2929.18.	Financial	Sanctions	–	Felony.		

a. Felony	of	the	first	degree:	$20,000	max		
b. Felony	of	the	second	degree:	$15,000	max		
c. Felony	of	the	third	degree:	$10,000	max		
d. Felony	of	the	fourth	degree:	$5,000	max		
e. Felony	of	the	fifth	degree:	$2,500	max		
	
	

                                                   
35	This	guide	is	available	at	
https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/Boards/Sentencing/resources/judPractitioner/felon
yQuickRef.pdf.	



 
 

	
	
	

	
Oklahoma 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  

 
The sentences for Oklahoma’s human trafficking crimes are located in the 

statutes themselves. Additionally, sentencing information may be found on the 
Oklahoma Department of Correction’s website.36  
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
 

I. Okla.	Stat.	tit.	21,	§	866.	Trafficking	in	Children.		
a. Felony	punishable	by	10	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. If	prospective	adoptive	parents:	misdemeanor	and	$5,000	max	fine	per	

violation	
c. Advertisement	of	human	trafficking:	misdemeanor	and	$5,000	max	fine	per	

violation		
II. Okla.	Stat.	tit.	21,	§	867.	Trafficking	in	Children	a	Felony.	

a. First	conviction:	Felony	punishable	by	1-3	years	imprisonment	
b. Subsequent	offense:	Felony	punishable	by	3	years	imprisonment	min.		
c. Except	if	sentenced	to	life	or	life	without	parole:	2	years	or	more	required	to	

serve	a	pose-imprisonment	supervision	period		
III. Okla.	Stat.	tit.	21,	§	1029.	Engaging	in	Prostitution,	etc.	–	Soliciting	or	Procuring	–	

Residing	or	being	in	place	for	Prohibited	Purpose	–	Aiding	and	Abetting	or	
Participating	–	Child	Prostitution	–	Presumption	of	Coercion.	
a. Child	Prostitution	(under	16):	felony	punishable	by	10	years	imprisonment	

max	and		
i. First	offense:	$2,500	max	fine		
ii. Second	offense:	$10,000	max	fine		
iii. Third	offense	or	more:	$15,000	max	fine		

	
Oregon 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
Oregon uses a sentencing guidelines grid in order to sentence its offenders.37 This 

is used in addition to a crime seriousness scale to determine which sentences should be 
given.38 

                                                   
36	http://doc.ok.gov/js-packet	
37	https://www.oregon.gov/cjc/about/Documents/guidelinesgrid.pdf	



 
 

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

 
I. Or.	Rev.	Stat.	§	163.266.	Trafficking	in	Persons.		

a. Trafficking	into	involuntary	servitude	or	benefits	financially	from	trafficking:	
Class	B	felony		

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max		
b. Minor	victim	or	trafficking	into	commercial	sex:	Class	A	felony	

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max		
II. Or.	Rev.	Stat.	§	163.263.	Subjecting	another	person	to	involuntary	servitude	in	

the	second	degree.	
a. Class	C	felony		

i. 5	years	imprisonment	max		
III. Or.	Rev.	Stat.	§	163.264.	Subjecting	another	person	to	involuntary	servitude	in	

the	first	degree.		
a. Class	B	felony	

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max		
 

Pennsylvania 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The sentencing guidelines for Pennsylvania are located in Chapter 303 of the 

Pennsylvania code.  
 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. 18	Pa.	Cons.	Stat.	§	3011.	Trafficking	in	Individuals.		
a. Minor	victim:	First	degree	felony		

i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine		
b. Adult	Victim:	Second	degree	felony		

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine		
II. 18	Pa.	Cons.	Stat.	§3012.	Involuntary	Servitude.		

a. First	degree	felony		
i. 20	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine		

III. 18	Pa.	Cons.	Stat.	§	3013.	Patronizing	a	Victim	of	Sexual	Servitude.	
a. Second	degree	felony		

i. 10	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine		
IV. 18	Pa.	Cons.	Stat.	§	3014.	Unlawful	Conduct	Regarding	Documents.		

a. Third	degree	felony		
i. 7	years	imprisonment	max,	$15,000	max	fine		

V. 18	Pa.	Cons.	Stat.	§	3015.	Nonpayment	of	Wages.		
                                                                                                                                                                    
38https://sentencing.umn.edu/sites/sentencing.umn.edu/files/Oregon%20Sentencing%20
Guidelines.pdf	



 
 

a. If	owed	less	than	$2,000:	third	degree	misdemeanor		
b. If	owed	more	than	$2,000,	refusal	or	failure	constitutes	second	or	

subsequent	violation,	or	the	person	falsely	denies	the	amount	due	or	validity	
of	the	debt:	third	degree	felony	

i. 7	years	imprisonment	max,	$15,000	max	fine		
	

Rhode Island 
 
a)			Sentencing	Guidelines		
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. 11	R.I.	Gen.	Laws	§	67.1-3.	Trafficking	an	individual.	
a. Minor	Victim:	Felony	punishable	of	50	years	imprisonment	max,	$40,000	

max	fine,	or	both		
b. Adult	Victim:	Felony	punishable	of	20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	

fine,	or	both		
II. 11	R.I.	Gen.	Laws	§	67.1-4.	Forced	Labor.		

a. Minor	Victim:	Felony	punishable	of	50	years	imprisonment	max,	$40,000	
max	fine,	or	both		

b. Adult	Victim:	Felony	punishable	of	20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	
fine,	or	both		

III. 11	R.I.	Gen.	Laws	§	67.1-5.	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Felony	punishable	of	50	years	imprisonment	max,	$40,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Adult	Victim:	Felony	punishable	of	20	years	imprisonment	max,	$20,000	max	

fine,	or	both		
IV. 11	R.I.	Gen.	Laws	§	11-67-1-9.	Aggravating	Circumstance.39	

a. If	present:	additional	5	years	imprisonment		
	

South Carolina 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  

 
The sentencing guidelines for South Carolina are published through the South 

Carolina legislature and individual sentences are located within the human trafficking 
statutes themselves.  

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	

 
I. S.C.	Code	Ann.	§	16-3-2020.	Trafficking	in	Persons,	Penalties,	Defenses.		

                                                   
39	defendant	recruited,	enticed,	or	obtained	the	victim	of	the	offense	from	a	shelter	that	
serves	individuals	subjected	to	human	trafficking,	domestic	violence,	or	sexual	assault,	
runaway	youth,	foster	children,	or	the	homeless;	or	Kidnaps,	holds	hostage,	or	otherwise	
keeps	the	victim	against	his	or	her	will	



 
 

a. First	offense:	felony	punishable	by	15	years	imprisonment	max		
b. Second	offense:	felony	punishable	by	30	years	imprisonment	max		
c. Third	or	subsequent	offense:	felony	punishable	by	45	years	imprisonment	

max		
d. Minor	victim:	additional	15	years	imprisonment	added	to	penalty	to	be	

served	consecutive		
 

South Dakota 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The sentences for South Dakota’s felonies are found in S.D. Codified Laws § 22-6-

1. 
 

b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences	
	

I. S.D.	Codified	Laws	§	22-49-2.	First	Degree	Human	Trafficking-	Felony.		
a. Class	2	felony		

i. 25	years	imprisonment,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both		
II. S.D.	Codified	Laws	§	22-49-3.	Second	Degree	Human	Trafficking.		

a. Class	4	felony	
i. 10	years	imprisonment,	$20,000	max	fine,	or	both		

III. S.D.	Codified	Laws	§22-49-4.	Hiring	person	forced	to	engage	in	sexual	activity--
Felony.		
a. Class	6	felony		

i. 2	years	imprisonment,	$4,00	fine,	or	both		
	

Tennessee 
 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

 The sentences for felonies in Tennessee are located in Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-35-
112.  

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Tenn.	Code	Ann.	§	39-13-307.	Involuntary	Labor	Servitude-	Restitution.	
a. Class	C	felony		

i. Range	I:	3-6	years	imprisonment	
ii. Range	III:	10-15	years	imprisonment	

b. If	minor	victim	under	13,	resulted	in	serious	bodily	injury	or	death,	time	
victim	was	held	was	more	than	one	year,	or	there	were	more	than	ten	
victims:	Class	B	felony		

i. Range	I:	8-12	years	imprisonment		



 
 

ii. Range	III:	20-30	years	imprisonment		
II. Tenn.	Code	Ann.	§	39-13-308.	Trafficking	for	forced	labor	or	services.		

a. Class	C	felony		
i. Range	I:	3-6	years	imprisonment	
ii. Range	III:	10-15	years	imprisonment	

III. Tenn.	Code	Ann.	§	39-13-309.	Trafficking	for	Commercial	Sex	Act.		
a. Class	B	felony		

i. Range	I:	8-12	years	imprisonment		
ii. Range	III:	20-30	years	imprisonment		

b. If	under	15,	on	the	grounds	or	within	1,000	feet	of	a	prohibited	place:	Class	A	
felony		

i. Range	I:	15-25	years	imprisonment		
ii. Range	III:	40-60	years	imprisonment		

	
Texas 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  

 
The sentences for felonies in Texas are located in Tex. Penal Code § 12.20-

12.35.40 
 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		

 
I. Tex.	Penal	Code	§	20A.02.		Trafficking	of	Persons.			

a. Second	degree	felony		
i. 2-20	years	imprisonment,		$10,000	max	fine,	or	both		

b. If	minor,	death	results,	or	death	of	an	unborn	child	results:	first	degree	felony		
i. 5	years	to	life	imprisonment,	$10,000	max	fine,	or	both		

II. Tex.	Penal	Code	§	20A.03.		Continuous	Trafficking	of	Persons.			
a. First	degree	felony	punishable	by	25	years	to	life	imprisonment		

	
Utah 

 
a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 
The sentences for felonies in Utah are contained in Utah Code § 76-3-203. 

 
b)			Human	Trafficking	Sentences		
	

I. Utah	Code	§	76-5-308.5.	Human	Trafficking	of	a	Child-	Penalties.	

                                                   
40	Penal	Code	Offenses	by	Punishment	Range,	available	at	
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/sites/default/files/files/divisions/criminal-
justice/PenalCode-Offenses-byRange.pdf.	



 
 

a. First	degree	felony	
i. 5years	-	life	imprisonment		

II. Utah	Code	§	76-5-309.	Human	Trafficking	and	Human	Smuggling	–	Penalties.	
a. Human	Trafficking:	Second	degree	felony	

i. 1-15	years	imprisonment		
b. Human	Smuggling:	third	degree	felony	

i. 5	years	imprisonment	max		
III. Utah	Code	§	76-5-310.	Aggravated	Human	Trafficking	and	Aggravated	Human	

Smuggling-	Penalties.		
a. Aggravated	human	trafficking;	first	degree	felony	

i. 5years	-	life	imprisonment		
b. Aggravated	human	smuggling:	second	degree	felony	

i. 1-15	years	imprisonment		
 

Vermont 
 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

The State of Vermont publishes a Sentencing Options manual that serves as a 
guide for the state’s sentencing.41 Additionally, the sentences for human trafficking 
violations are contained within the sentences themselves.  
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. Vt.	Stat.	Ann.	tit.	13,	§	2652.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Life	imprisonment	max,	$500,000	max	fine,	or	both		

II. Vt.	Stat.	Ann.	tit.	13,	§	2653.	Aggravated	Human	Trafficking.	(includes	minor	
victims)	
a. 20-life	imprisonment,	$100,000	fine,	or	both	

III. 						Vt.	Stat.	Ann.	tit.	13,	§	2654.	Patronizing	or	Facilitating	Human	Trafficking.	
a. 5	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		

  
Virginia 

 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

Virginia has a sentencing worksheet that takes into account criminal record of the 
offender, mitigating and aggravating factors, and minimum sentences in order to 
determine an offender’s sentence.42 The sentences for felonies are located in Va. Code 
Ann. § 18.2-10.  
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
                                                   
41	http://www.doc.state.vt.us/about/what/sentencing-options-manual/view	
42	http://www.vcsc.virginia.gov/worksheets.html	



 
 

 
I. Va.	Code	Ann.	§	18.2-346.	Prostitution;	Commercial	Sexual	Conduct;	Commercial	

Exploitation	of	a	Minor;	Penalties.	
a. Commercial	sexual	exploitation	of	a	minor	16	or	older:	Class	6	felony		

i. 1-5	years	imprisonment,	$2,500	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Commercial	sexual	exploitation	of	a	minor	under	16:	Class	5	felony		

i. 1-10	years	imprisonment,	$2,500	max	fine,	or	both		
II. Va.	Code	Ann.	§	18.2-355.	Taking,	Detaining,	Etc.,	Person	for	Prostitution,	etc.	or	

Consenting	Thereto;	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Class	4	felony		

i. 2-10	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Minor	Victim:	Class	3	felony		

i. 5-20	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		
III. Va.	Code	Ann.	§	18.2-357.1.	Commercial	Sex	Trafficking;	Penalties.		

a. If	solicits,	invites,	recruits,	encourages,	or	otherwise	causes	or	attempts	to	
cause	a	person	to	become	a	prostitute:	Class	5	felony	

i. 1-10	years	imprisonment,	$2,500	max	fine,	or	both		
b. If	uses	force,	intimidation	or	deception	to	cause	person	to	become	a	

prostitute	or	have	unlawful	sexual	intercourse:	Class	4	felony		
i. 2-10	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		

c. Committing	this	crime	with	minor	victim:	Class	3	felony	
i. 5-20	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		

 
Washington 

 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

Washington publishes an adult sentencing guidelines manual annually that aids 
in determining individual sentences for offenders..43  
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. Wash.	Rev.	Code	§	9A.40.100.	Trafficking.		
a. All	forms:	Class	A	felony	

i. Life	imprisonment	max,	$50,000	max	fine,	or	both	
 
 

West Virginia 
 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 

                                                   
43https://www.cfc.wa.gov/PublicationSentencing/SentencingManual/Adult_Sentencing_M
anual_2017.pdf	



 
 

The laws that apply to sentencing in West Virginia are located in Chapter 61, 
Article 11 of the West Virginia Code.  
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. W.Va.	Code	§61-14-2.	Human	Trafficking	of	an	Individual;	Penalties.		
a. Adult	victim:	3-15	years	imprisonment,	$200,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	victim:	5-20	years	imprisonment,	$300,000	max	fine,	or	both	

II. W.Va.	Code	§61-14-3.	Use	of	Forced	Labor;	Penalties.		
a. Adult	victim:	1-5	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	Victim:	3-15	years	imprisonment,	$300,000	max	fine,	or	both	

III. W.Va.	Code	§61-14-4.	Use	of	Persons	in	Debt	Bondage;	Penalties.		
a. Adult	victim:	1-5	years	imprisonment,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	victim:	3-15	years	imprisonment,	$300,000	max	fine,	or	both	

IV. W.Va.	Code	§61-14-5.	Sexual	Servitude;	Penalties.		
a. Adult	victim:	3-15	years	imprisonment,	$200,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	victim:	10-20	years	imprisonment	max,	$300,000	max	fine,	or	both	

V. W.Va.	Code	§61-14-6.	Patronizing	a	Victim	of	Sexual	Servitude;	Penalties.	
a. Adult	victim:	1-5	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	victim:	3-15	years	imprisonment	max,	$300,000	max	fine,	or	both	

 
Wisconsin 

 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines 
 

The Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau publishes Felony Sentencing studies 
annually for the state of Wisconsin. Additionally, the sentences for each felony are 
located in Wis. Stat. § 939.50.  
  
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. Wis.	Stat.	§	940.302.	Human	Trafficking.		
a. Class	D	felony	

i. 25	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		
b. Benefits	knowingly	from	trafficking:	Class	D	felony		

i. 25	years	imprisonment	max,	$100,000	max	fine,	or	both		
c. Knowingly	receives	earnings	of	debt	bondage,	prostitute,	or	commercial	sex	

act:	Class	F	felony		
i. 12.5	years	imprisonment	max,	$25,000	max	fine,	or	both	

 
Wyoming 

 
 a)   Sentencing Guidelines  
 



 
 

 The sentences for Wyoming’s human trafficking offenses are located within the 
statutes themselves. 
 
 b)   Human Trafficking Sentences  
 

I. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-702.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	First	Degree;	Penalty.		
a. Adult	victim:	felony	punishable	by	5-50	years	imprisonment,	$10,0000	max	

fine,	or	both	
b. Minor	Victim:	felony	punishable	by	25-50	years,	$10,000	max	fine,	or	both	

II. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-703.	Human	Trafficking	in	the	Second	Degree;	Penalty.		
a. felony	punishable	by	2-20	years	imprisonment,	$10,000	max	fine,	or	both	

III. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-704.	Forced	Labor	and	Servitude;	Penalty.		
a. felony	punishable	by	15	years	imprisonment	max,	$10,000	max	fine,	or	both	

IV. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-705.	Sexual	Servitude	of	Adult.		
a. felony	punishable	by	3	years	imprisonment	max,	$3,000	max	fine,	or	both	

V. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-706.	Sexual	Servitude	of	a	Minor.		
a. felony	punishable	by	5	years	imprisonment	max,	$5,000	max	fine,	or	both	

VI. Wyo.	Stat.	Ann.	§	6-2-707.	Patronizing	a	Victim	of	Sexual	Servitude.		
a. Felony	punishable	by	3	years	imprisonment	max,	$5,000	max	fine,	or	both	

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 


