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North Carolina criminalizes child sex trafficking
without requiring use of force, fraud, or coercion;
however, benefitting financially is not included
as prohibited conduct under the trafficking

law. Minors do not face prosecution under

the prostitution law, and North Carolina law 10 2 3 13 4 5 2 5 1 4 5

authorizes law enforcement training on child sex
trafficking. A 10 25 15 10 | 275 | 15

Criminalization of Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking

North Carolina’s “human trafficking” law criminalizes child sex trafficking without requiring use of force, fraud, or coercion. The state
commercial sexual exploitation (CSEC) laws include: “solicitation of prostitution,” “patronizing a prostitute,” “promoting prostitution,”
“sexual exploitation of a minor” in the first, second, and third degree, and “employing or permitting a minor to assist in offense under
Article.” The prostitution statutes refer to the “human trafficking” and “sexual servitude” statutes to acknowledge the intersection of
prostitution with trafficking victimization. North Carolina’s continuing criminal enterprise statute, which includes any felony as a predi-
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cate act, could be used to prosecute sex trafficking crimes committed in concert by five or more persons.

Criminal Provisions
for Demand

Buyers may be prosecuted under North Carolina’s “sexual ser-
vitude” and “human trafficking” laws. Three CSEC laws apply to
buyers: “patronizing a prostitute,” “solicitation of prostitution,”
and, in limited circumstances, “promoting prostitution.” State
law distinguishes between soliciting an adult versus a minor for a
commercial sex act by enhancing the penalty for the latter. Con-
victions under the trafficking law are punishable by 125-157
months imprisonment, while buyers convicted of “sexual servi-
tude” face 58-73 months imprisonment. Penalties for CSEC
convictions range from 10-73 months imprisonment. “Human
trafficking” and “sexual servitude” expressly prohibit a mistake
of age defense in a prosecution under those statutes. No stat-
ute criminalizes the use of the Internet to purchase commercial
sex acts from a minor, but the statute on “solicitation of child by
computer or certain other electronic devices to commit an unlaw-
ful sex act” might apply to buyers who use the Internet. Buyers
convicted of “human trafficking” or “sexual servitude” must pay
victim restitution. Buyers face mandatory criminal forfeiture of
assets acquired through commission of any felony and possible
civil forfeiture of vehicles and other property used in connection
with prostitution offenses. Convicted buyers of commercial sex
acts with minors are required to register as sex offenders.
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Criminal Provisions
for Traffickers

A violation of North Carolina’s trafficking offense is punishable
by 125-157 months imprisonment. While violations of “sexu-
al servitude,” using a minor to create images of child sexual
exploitation (ICSE), use of a minor in a live sexual performance
for pecuniary gain, and “promoting prostitution” of a minor are
felonies, the presumptive sentences of 58-73 months impris-
onment do not reflect the seriousness of those offenses. The
statute on “solicitation of child by computer or certain other
electronic devices to commit an unlawful sex act” provides a
means of prosecuting traffickers who use the Internet to re-
cruit minors for illegal sex acts. Traffickers face mandatory
restitution, mandatory criminal forfeiture of assets acquired
through commission of any felony, and civil forfeiture of real
and personal property used in connection with prostitution of-
fenses. Traffickers are required to register as sex offenders. A
conviction for “human trafficking” or “sexual servitude” can
serve as grounds for terminating parental rights based on the
definition of “abused juveniles.”
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Criminal Provisions for Facilitators

The “human trafficking” law does not include the crime of assist-
ing, enabling, or financially benefitting from human trafficking.
However, the CSEC offense of “promoting prostitution” of a minor
is a felony that applies to facilitators and carries a presumptive
sentence of 58-73 months imprisonment. A facilitator is subject
to mandatory criminal forfeiture of assets acquired through com-
mission of any felony, civil forfeiture of real and personal proper-

ty used in connection with prostitution offenses, and some facili-
tators are subject to mandatory restitution. Facilitating a minor
to engage in sexual conduct for ICSE is a felony punishable with
a presumptive sentence of 58-73 months imprisonment. Dis-
tributing, transporting, or exhibiting ICSE is a felony punishable
by a presumptive sentence of 20-25 months. No laws in North
Carolina address sex tourism.

Protective Provisions for the Child Victims

All commercially sexually exploited children are defined as juve-
nile sex trafficking victims. North Carolina’s “human trafficking,”
“involuntary servitude,” and “sexual servitude” laws expressly
prohibit a defense based on the willingness of the minor to en-
gage in the commercial sex act. Minors do not face prosecution
under the prostitution law, and law enforcement must file a re-
port of suspected child abuse, enabling many victims to avoid a
punitive response and to access services; however, provision of
specialized services is not statutorily mandated. For purposes of
child welfare intervention, child sex trafficking is included as a
form of abuse regardless of the relationship between the child
and the perpetrator. While CSEC victims would likely be eligible
for state crime victims’ compensation, several eligibility criteria
may limit their ability to recover, including requirements to coop-
erate with law enforcement, to report the crime to law enforce-
ment within 72 hours unless good cause is shown, and to file a

claim for compensation within 2 years. Victim-friendly court pro-
cedures such as the “rape shield” law, which limits traumatizing
cross-examination of testifying victims, are available to victims of
“sexual servitude,” but the ability to testify via closed circuit tele-
vision is limited to children under 16. North Carolina law does
not provide a mechanism for minors to vacate delinquency adju-
dications related to trafficking victimization, and juvenile records
may only be expunged after a waiting period. A court must order
an offender of human trafficking and CSEC offenses to pay vic-
tim restitution, and a victim may pursue civil remedies against
an offender. North Carolina does not have a statute of limita-
tions for felonies and, thus, allows a CSEC felony to be brought at
any time. Additionally, the statute of limitations for CSEC victims
pursuing a civil cause of action does not begin to run until the
victim reaches 18.

Criminal Justice Tools for Investigation and Prosecution

The North Carolina Justice Academy is authorized to develop a
protocol and training materials on human trafficking, which is
made available to law enforcement. Single party consent to au-
diotaping is permitted. Wiretapping is allowed in CSEC and sex
trafficking investigations. No law expressly prohibits an offender
from raising a defense based on the use of a law enforcement
decoy posing as a minor in the investigation of prostitution or sex
trafficking cases, but law enforcement may utilize the Internet

to investigate buyers and traffickers relying on the crime of “so-
licitation of a child by computer,” which includes communicating
with a person the offender believes is under 16 to meet with
the offender or another person to commit an unlawful sex act.
North Carolina established a statewide reporting and response
system for lost, missing, or runaway children, and failure to re-
port a missing child is a crime.

The Report Card is based on the Protected Innocence Challenge Legislative Framework, an analysis of state laws performed by Shared
Hope International, and sets a national standard of protection against domestic minor sex trafficking. To access the Protected Innocence
Challenge Legislative Framework Methodology, all state Report Cards, and foundational analysis and recommendations, please visit:
www.sharedhope.org/reportcards.

Protected Innocence Challenge

© 2018 Shared Hope International | www.sharedhope.org




