ORDER OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

I hereby determine and declare under N.C.G.S. § 7A-39(b)(1) that catastrophic conditions resulting from Hurricane Florence currently exist in those counties subject to mandatory evacuation orders: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, and Tyrrell.

I therefore order that all pleadings, motions, notices, and other documents and papers that were due to be filed in the aforementioned counties between the dates of 13 September 2018 and 17 September 2018 in civil actions, criminal actions, estates, and special proceedings shall be deemed to be timely filed if they are filed before the close of business on 28 September 2018.

I further order that all other acts that were due to be done in the aforementioned counties between the dates of 13 September 2018 and 17 September 2018 in civil actions, criminal actions, estates, and special proceedings shall be deemed to be timely done if they are done before the close of business on 28 September 2018.

I will issue additional orders under N.C.G.S. § 7A-39(b) as circumstances may warrant.

This the 13th day of September, 2018.

Mark Martin

Chief Justice

Supreme Court of North Carolina

ak Martin