, General News

North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court 2019-2020 Officers Sworn In

Chief Justice Cheri Beasley administered the oath of office to 2019-2020 executive officers during a banquet.

Article contents

The North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court recently held their 2019 Summer Educational Conference in Durham County. The Conference held an evening banquet where the 2019-2020 executive officers were sworn in by Chief Justice Cheri BeasleyAdministrative Office of the Courts (NCAOC) Interim Director McKinley Wooten also attended and made remarks.

The Honorable Marsha L. Johnson, Harnett County clerk of superior court, was installed as the new president of the North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court for 2019-2020 on August 15, 2019. Mrs. Johnson served as first vice president of the Conference last year along with being a legislative committee chair. Clerk Johnson has been active in the Conference and NCAOC committees since her tenure as clerk of superior court began in 2011. She has seen technological improvements that benefit the public implemented throughout the court system during her tenure and is excited to begin her work as president for future advancements in the daily operations of the Judicial Branch including the new Integrated Case Management System development that is underway.   

North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Cheri Beasley administered the Oath of Office in the ceremony which included the oaths of the other officers as follows: the Honorable Tonya Leggett, Martin County as first vice president; the Honorable Raymond Matusko, Currituck County as second vice president; the Honorable J. Yancey Washington, Granville County as secretary; the Honorable Kim Sigmon, Catawba County as treasurer of the Conference.

“Our motto is to serve clerks, unify efforts and improve justice” said Executive Director Jamie Lassiter.  “We are excited to begin a new year of leadership and build on the accomplishments of 2018-19 under Past President Deborah Barker, Person County clerk of superior court”.

Along with the newly sworn in officers, the conference presented the 2018-19 President’s Award to the Honorable Larry Brown, Gaston County clerk of superior court. This award was established for the purpose of recognizing a clerk who has given of themselves unselfishly to their work. Clerk Brown organizes many charity and fundraising drives to support fellow clerks across the state and his citizens in the county. The “Boots on the Ground” award for perseverance, dedication to the cause and grit were given to the Honorable Charles “Chris” Henderson, Jones County clerk of superior court. Clerk Henderson showed his dedication when his county and home were both in devastation from Hurricane Florence in 2018.

AboutThe Conference of Clerks of Superior Court was created in 2006 by the North Carolina General Assembly to improve the administration of justice in North Carolina. The Conference, consisting of the 100 elected clerks from across the state and supported by an executive director and administrative staff, works to improve public accessibility to the courts through the clerk of superior court, serve as a resource for the clerks in key areas of court administration, and to act as a liaison on behalf of all elected clerks of superior court to both governmental and non-governmental stakeholders.