Dispute Resolution Commission Members

See the members of the Dispute Resolution Commission.

The Commission is an 18-member body established by N.C. Gen. Stat. §7A-38.2. Appointments to the Commission are made by all branches of government: the Chief Justice of the  Supreme Court of North Carolina (13 appointments, including the Chair), the Governor (one appointment), the President Pro Tempore of the Senate (one appointment), and the Speaker of the House (one appointment). In addition, the President of the North Carolina State Bar makes two appointments. By statute, membership on the Commission is to include superior and district court judges; a clerk of superior court; a district attorney, practicing attorneys, not certified to mediate; certified mediators; a court management staff member; and knowledgeable members of the public. Members serve three-year terms. Members of the Commission come from all regions of the State and both urban and rural communities.

Current Members

judge-phyllis-gorham.jpg   Judge Phyllis Gorham, Chair
316 Princess St., Ste. 341
Wilmington, NC 28401
Judge John Tyson   Judge John Tyson, Vice Chair
N.C. Court of Appeals
PO Box 888
Raleigh, NC 27601
zachary-bolen.jpg   Zachary Bolen
1508 Brooks Avenue
Raleigh, NC  27607
leann-brown.jpg   LeAnn Nease Brown, Esq.
Brown & Bunch, PLLC
101 North Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
DA Ben David   The Honorable Benjamin David
District Attorney - D6
316 Princess Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
judge-richard-gottlieb.jpg   Judge Richard S. Gottlieb
Hall of Justice
PO Box 20099
Winston Salem, NC 27120-0099
debra-griffiths.jpg   Debra Griffiths, Esq. 
PO Box 470
Youngsville, NC 27596
lisa-johnson-tonkins.jpg   The Honorable Lisa Y. Johnson-Tonkins
Clerk of Superior Court
Guilford County Courthouse
201 S. Eugene Street
Greensboro, NC 27401
judge-rebecca-knight.jpg   Judge Rebecca Knight
PO Box 701
Asheville, NC 28802
barbara-morgenstern.jpg   Barbara Morgenstern, Esq.
Morgenstern & Associates, PLLC
100 S. Elm Street, Ste. 320
Greensboro, NC 27401
ketan-soni.jpg   Ketan Soni, Esq.
301 McDowell Street, Ste. 306
Charlotte, NC 28204
david-wijewickrama.jpg   David A. Wijewickrama, Esq.
95 Depot Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
charlot-wood.jpg   Charlot F. Wood, Esq.
Bell Davis & Pitt
PO Box 21029
Winston-Salem, NC 27120-1029
jayne-zanglein.jpg   Jayne Zanglein
Sylva, NC 28779