Learn About the Court System

Learn more about North Carolina’s unified court system, cases, officials, routes of appeal, and more.


Under the North Carolina Constitution, the Judicial Branch is established as a co-equal branch of state government with the Legislative and Executive branches. North Carolina’s court system, called the General Court of Justice, is a unified statewide and state-operated system.

The mission of the North Carolina Judicial Branch is to protect and preserve the rights and liberties of all the people, as guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States and North Carolina, by providing a fair, independent, and accessible forum for the just, timely, and economical resolution of their legal affairs.

More Information

Types of Courts

The courts of the North Carolina Judicial Branch are split into three divisions.

Types of Cases

As a case enters the court system, it is routed to specific courts.

Structure of the Courts

The North Carolina Constitution divides state government into three branches, Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.

Court Officials

These elected or appointed officials play crucial roles in the processing of cases and the disposition of justice.

Speakers Bureau

The Speakers Bureau is a free, public service provided by the judicial community of North Carolina. Request a speaker for your civic education event.

Civics Education Material

Find resource material available for civics education in the classroom or presenting to a variety of groups, from various school age children to adults, about the role, importance, and history of North Carolina's Judicial Branch and the court system. 

All Things Judicial Podcast

Subscribe to hear bi-monthly episodes of interviews with Judicial Branch officials and stories about topics related to the work we do as the Third Branch of state government.