Chief Justice’s Task Force on ACEs-Informed Courts

To understand the impact of ACEs on children and to develop strategies for addressing adverse childhood experiences within our court system.


The mission of the Task Force is to enable Judicial Branch stakeholders to understand the impact on children of exposure to ACEs (adverse childhood experiences; adverse community environments); and to develop strategies for addressing adverse consequences within our court system.

To accomplish this mission, the Task Force will:

  • Provide judges and court administrators with practical education on the effects of ACEs;
  • Equip juvenile court officials to recognize young offenders and victims impacted by ACEs;
  • Identify existing programs and design new programs that intervene in the lives of young ACEs offenders and victims affected by ACEs to put them on a path away from the courthouse and into a successful adult life; and
  • Provide a platform from which court officials can offer feedback to educators regarding their experiences, with the hope of creating further avenues for research on this important topic.

Read about the Bolch Judicial Institute's Trauma-Informed Court program at Duke University School of Law. The program will help educate court officials on ACEs and related issues.


The Task Force members are appointed by Chief Justice Paul Newby and are representative of all stakeholder groups within our court system: judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, clerks, law enforcement, private attorneys, and child-representatives, as well as academic leaders. This talented, experienced, and diverse group is supplemented with an advisory group made up of subject matter experts as well as representatives from law schools, universities, the Executive Branch, and private foundations.


Quarterly meetings to be held around the state:

Friday, August 20, 2021
9:15 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
North Carolina Judicial Center, Raleigh
Meeting Minutes

Friday, November 5, 2021

Friday, January 21, 2022

Friday, April 29, 2022

Speaking Events