, General News

Counties Being Redistricted January 2019

Effective January 1, 2019, NCGA legislative changes will redistrict some counties for prosecutorial, district, and superior court districts.

Article contents

Effective January 1, 2019, and as a result of the North Carolina General Assembly legislative changes made by S.L. 2018-14 and S.L. 2018-141, G.S. 7A-41(a), G.S. 7A-60(a1), and G.S. 7A-133(a) will require the following:

  • District 9A (Caswell and Person counties) is abolished. For superior court, district court, and prosecutorial districts: Person County joins Granville, Franklin, Vance, and Warren counties; and Caswell County joins Rockingham County.
  • Montgomery County joins Stanly County for superior court, district court, and prosecutorial districts.
  • Hoke County joins Moore County in reconfiguration of Superior Court District 19D and for the creation of District Court District 19D. 
  • Superior Court Districts 4A and 4B are joined into District 4 (Duplin, Jones, Onslow, and Sampson counties).

View the new judicial districts maps. Find courthouse information by county.