Chief Justice's Commission on Professionalism

To enhance professionalism among North Carolina lawyers, judges, and law students.

More Information

Pandemic Programs

Watch pandemic-related programs available for informational viewing.


The Chief Justice's Commission on Professionalism (CJCP) was established on September 22, 1998, by order of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. The order established the Commission's membership and major responsibilities.

The North Carolina CJCP consists of a chairperson, who is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or his/her designee; two judges serving on trial benches of the courts of the state or the United States; and one appellate court judge either from the state or United States. Other members include two law school faculty members from accredited North Carolina law schools, eight practicing lawyers, and three non-lawyer citizens who are active in public affairs. All members, with the exception of the chairperson, serve for a term of three years.

The major responsibilities of the Commission include its primary charge: to enhance professionalism among North Carolina's lawyers. In carrying out this charge, the CJCP is required to provide ongoing attention and assistance to ensure the practice of law remains a high calling, dedicated to the service of clients and the public good. 

Learn more about the commission

Staff and Members

CJCP Staff

See the staff of the Chief Justice's Commission on Professionalism.

CJCP Members

See the members of the Chief Justice's Commission on Professionalism.

Latest News


Telephone (919) 890-1455
Fax (919) 890-1934


Mailing Address 901 Corporate Center Drive
Raleigh, NC 27607